Research Guides: HIST 209: Modern Latin America (HC): Visual Sources

Visual Resources

Flickr
Through this site, you can find recent photographs taken around the world. Use the Advanced Search and limit results to Creative Commons-licensed content for fairly generous terms of use.
Photography
Source lists from LANIC including resources for individual countries.
Photography books in the Tricollege Collections
Search Tripod to identify collections of photographs taken in specific countries.
Visual Resources - Latin American Studies
Librarians at Johns Hopkins have put together a list of resources including Chilean Protest Murals and the Museum of Latin American Art.

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays. Essays and images related to Latin America including:
• Essays on indigenous Latin American Art
• Images of South American 20th century art

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs and reviews of modern and contemporary art, including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Subject coverage from the 19th century on. Some indexing of publications back to 1960s; full text often available for publications since ca. 2000.