Research Guides: HIST 307: Gender, Race, and Class in the Americas (HC): Textual Sources

Online Source Collections

American Broadsides & Ephemera: Series I
- This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable images of over 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and an equal number of pamphlets (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports.
American Memory This link opens in a new window
This rich and diverse digital collection provides many sources on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.

Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos
This online catalog is gathering records for all books printed in Latin America prior to 1851 as well as books in Spanish published in the United States and the Philippines. Later it plans to provide full-text access for titles.
Colecciones Mexicanas
Provides access to collections and digitized images of documents and books from major libraries in Mexico. Note in particular the Archivo Franciscano.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Provides search and browse options for over 650 digital collections of primary sources about women.

Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection covering American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text versions of books published in the United States, 1639-1800. See also the supplement Series II for material published 1801-1819.

Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies
Makes available over 300, 000 documents from Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Spanish Florida. The largest number date from the 18th and 19th centuries, but there is material from earlier periods as well. Note, as an example, a transcription of baptismal records from Havana, 1590-1600 which documents family and social networks for individuals who are frequently categorized with a racial term.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 titles including books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers. Among them are translations of titles originally written in Spanish as well as English titles concerning many different aspects of Spanish and Latin American culture.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Includes English translations of titles originally written in Spanish.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
- This link opens in a new window
This database unites primary and secondary sources with an emphasis on social history. The search "race or racial" retrieves a wide variety of full text materials including images, historical newspaper articles, and scholarly analysis.

Latin American Travelogues (Brown University)
Full text versions of travel accounts written in the 16th through 19th centuries.
Sourcebook on Colonial Latin America (Fordham University)
This project is under development but includes documents and letters concerning the Jesuits in colonial Latin America.

Sources in Printed Form

Those that have been edited, reprinted in facsimiles, or transferred to microfilm can be borrowed through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan if they are not in Tripod. Many of them will be listed in Tripod or WorldCat under subject terms and the word "sources." For example, the search latin america* history sources produces books including:

Afro-Latino Voices: Narratives from the Early Modern Ibero-Atlantic World, 1550-1812

Colonial Latin American History: A Documentary History

New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the Early 17th Century

Testaments of Toluca

Radical Reader: A Documentary History of the American Radical Tradition

The Face of Our Past: Images of Black Women from Colonial America to the Present

Women in American History to 1880: A Documentary Reader

Books printed in the 17th and 18th centuries are kept in libraries' rare book collections. Sometimes 19th cetury titles are also treated as rare. You can go to Haverford's Special Collections, Bryn Mawr, the University of Pennsylvania, and other local libraries to see examples of these books:

The natvrall and morall historie of the East and West Indies
By Acosta, José de, 1540-1600.
London, Printed by V. Sims for E. Blount and W. Aspley, 1604
H Magill Special Collections E141 A25

Anecdotes of Africans
London, 1827
H Magill Special Collections BX7642 A57