Research Guides: HIST 122: Modern Japanese History: Culture, Empire and Everyday Life (HC): Resources in Special Collections at Haverford

Resources in Special Collections at Haverford College

Quaker & Special Collections, Haverford College

Special Collections has a variety of documents, photographs, letters, and other kinds of materials relating to Japan. Quaker missionaries spent time in Japan as teachers and medical personnel. Their letters, diaries, and organizational records provide important evidence for analysis.

Special Collections at Haverford has materials that support a wide range of research. Collections will be available this academic year by appointment. Please see this page for details about both virtual and in person appointments. Thesis writers should search Special Collections holdings for their topic and then contact Sarah Horowitz about using materials from the collections.

Resources from Haverford's Special Collections

Asian History and Culture Materials in Haverford Special Collections - Japan
This web guide includes:
1) Philadelphia Yearly Meeting Japan Committee records
2) Manuscript material including letters and papers from Japanese and Americans who lived and worked in Japan
3) 19th century books
4) Collections of photos
Japanese Tourist Photography
This website includes digitized photographs from Haverford's Special Collections. It also cites history journal articles that provide context for the images.
Service and Missionary Work in Japan and China
The materials in this packet document several women teaching at Friends School, Tokyo, a woman working with relief organizations in post-World War II Japan, and a medical missionary and educator in China. This is only a small amount of the materials on these topics available in Quaker & Special Collections.