Research Guides: ARTS 217: History of African-American Art From 1619 to the Present (HC): Articles (Journal and Newspaper)

Newspaper Indexes

New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.

Specialized Index

African American Visual Artists Database
Lists over 17,000 artists with information primarily focused on their exhibitions. See the link List of Artists to find the entry for a specific person.

Art Indexes

ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs and reviews of modern and contemporary art, including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Subject coverage from the 19th century on. Some indexing of publications back to 1960s; full text often available for publications since ca. 2000.
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers material published between 1975-2007. Use International Bibliography of Art for coverage of publications after 2007.

Other Indexes

Articles (in Tripod)
Articles searches millions of journal and newspaper articles, many of them in full text and available through the Tri-College Libraries. It can be a good place to start a search by giving you a sense of the range of materials available and approaches they take. It is also useful when looking for lesser known topics because it draws on so many published articles from all subject areas.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.