Research Guides: EALC 202: Visualizing Japanese Buddhism: Art, Religion, Philosophy (HC) Fall 2019: Finding Books & Journal Articles

Fundamental Databases

Below is a list of some of the databases where you might find relevant articles for your topic. These websites compile the top journals in the field for you to access.

ProQuest Research Library
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.
JSTOR
Access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in most academic disciplines. For journals, coverage is from first issue through three to five years ago.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
Historical Abstracts
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Project Muse journals
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Subject entries, biographies, images, biographies, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Finding Books

Tripod: Books and More
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.