Research Guides: HIST 286: Gender and the Construction of Science in America, 1700-1900 (HC): Visual Sources

Images as Sources

Emma Homan Thayer, Violets, from Wild Flowers of the Pacific Coast, 1887 (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.

British Museum Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Searchable database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts with descriptions of individual images.
Database of Scientific Illustrators
Available from the University of Stuttgart.
Digital Image Collections
New York Public Library has digitized many of its notable art and photography collections to aid researchers.
Image Sources (Princeton University)
See sources for images including libraries, museums and organizations.
Wellcome Images
The Wellcome Library makes more than 40,000 images searchable online relating to medicine and social history. Note that the Advanced Search includes a year range option.