Research Guides: HIST 286: Gender and the Construction of Science in America, 1700-1900 (HC): Collections in Tripod and on the Web

Source Collections in Tripod

Some online collections are available through Tripod. See the History Primary Sources Page for a full listing.

Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series I (1639-1800).
Early American Imprints: Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series II (1801-1819). Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to titles and editions published in England between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers are also included.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Full text versions of books, magazines, and other materials published in the 19th century. This is a collection in development. Materials now in the database cover Asia and the West, British politics and society, high and popular culture in Britain, European literature, Maps and travel literature, Photography, Religion and spirituality, Science, technology and medicine, Women's transnational networks..

Source Collections on the Web

ECHO (Exploring and Collecting History Online)
This directory to 5,000+ websites concerning the history of science, technology, and industry can be searched by time period and topic.
Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library, a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here.
Pennsylvania Digital Library
This cooperative collection brings together digitized volumes from academic libraries and historical societies.

Major 19th C. Magazine Collections

Accessible Archives
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
American Broadsides & Ephemera: Series I
- This link opens in a new window
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and 15,000 pieces of ephemera (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society collection. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Material types include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to newspaper pages from 1900 to 1910 and abstracts about American newspapers published between 1690 to the present.
Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship (NINES) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a peer-reviewed collection of digital projects on the the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American. Useful for identifying primary sources.
Eight Centuries
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents

Sources in Modern Editions

Those that have been edited, reprinted in facsimiles, or transferred to microfilm can be borrowed through E Z Borrow or interlibrary loan if they are not in Tripod. Many of them will be listed in WorldCat under subject terms which include such words as "sources," "letters," "diaries," or "personal narratives." For example, the search china history sources produces results including:

An Anthology of Nineteenth-Century American Science Writing. Edited by C. R. Resetarits.

This collection of primary source documents presents the work of 19th century scientists- all men. In the preface the author includes a paragraph titled "Women and Science" to acknowledge the "limits of this anthology" and point readers toward Rossiter's and Baym's work.