Skip to main content
Check Bryn Mawr's, Haverford's, or Swarthmore's library websites for additional resources during COVID-19.

HIST 270: From Empire to Nation: The Ottoman World Transformed (HC): Relevant Books

History 270: From Empire to Nation: The Ottoman World Transformed (Kitroeff) Fall 2019

Identifying Relevant Books

Use Tripod to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Swarthmore, and Bryn Mawr.  Note that you can request print copies from BMC and Swarthmore.  Log into Tripod (upper right corner), for Request buttons to appear on records.  Delivery is usually within 24 hours.

The following suggested searches are only a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic not listed below, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Library Catalog to find relevant titles and then using the subject headings assigned to those items to find more.

Scholarly studies about ethnic and religious groups in the Ottoman Empire

  • turkey "ethnic relations" AND history "20th century"   [Subject in Books+Media]    Connect from Bryn Mawr College   Icon 
  • jews turkey history [Subject in Books+Media]   Connect from Bryn Mawr College   Icon

Memoirs about life in the Ottoman Empire

  • (turkey OR ottoman) [Subject] AND (memoir* OR personal OR autobiograph* OR diar*) AND 19th  [Keyword]   Connect from Bryn Mawr College   Icon
  • palestine AND (memoir* OR personal OR autobiograph* OR diar*) AND history [Subject]    Connect from Bryn Mawr College   Icon

Dissertations

Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can obtain many of these dissertations full text in the database below. Take advantage of the detailed bibliographies and new ideas. Check  Dissertations & Theses to identify titles on your topic.

  • Dissertations & Theses  Icon  Icon  Icon
     Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 400 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan.  Use the FindIt button to request items you see in WorldCat.