Peace History Resources Online

Searchable document archive from UIC. Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and It's Neighborhoods, 1889-1963 is a history website constructed at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The website is completely searchable and contains more than 900 separate texts, including correspondence, newspaper articles, unpublished memoirs, magazine and journal articles, maps, and hundreds of images of historic significance for documenting the life and times of Jane Addams, the history of the social settlement movement and of Hull-House, and the history of the Near West Side neighborhood and its immigrant communities.

The Jane Addams Hull-House Museum is a historic site located on the campus of the University of Illinois-Chicago. The Museum is a memorial to Jane Addams and the work of Hull-House. There are exhibits re-creating the settlement house and tours for visitors.

From the UIC Library. This guide provides a sample of resources for researching the history of Chicago's Hull-House Settlement House, its co-founders Jane Addams and Ellen Gates Starr, and their innovative staff.

In the Special Collections Department of the University of Illinois at Chicago Library. It contains over 100 distinct manuscript collections relating to the Jane Addams, Hull-House and the Near West Side of Chicago.The JAMC website contains short descriptions of each of these collections and links to online finding aids when available. New finding aids continue to be added.

The Jane Addams Digital Edition, a project at Ramapo College, is publishing Jane Addams' correspondence and writings for the period 1901-1935. Much of this material is already available as part of the Jane Addams Papers microfilm collection, originally published in 1983. The digital edition will also include searchable transcripts of the correspondence.

Site contains searchable database for all book awarded prizes and honorable mentions, by the Jane Addams Peace Association. JAPA has issued this award since 1953.

A history website that has been constructed at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The website is completely searchable and contains more than 900 separate texts, including correspondence, newspaper articles, unpublished memoirs, magazine and journal articles, maps, and hundreds of images of historic significance for documenting the life and times of Jane Addams, the history of the social settlement movement and of Hull-House, and the history of the Near West Side neighborhood and its immigrant communities.

Includes wartime letters, writings, and photographs from McMaster University and Oxford University peace activist Vera Brittain, as well as WWI poets.

Elihu Burritt Library at Central Connecticut State Library. Collection of writings by nineteenth century internationalist and peace activist, Elihu Burritt. Some items from the collection available online.

In Swarthmore's Peace Collection; includes many letters available online.

From the University of California at Berkeley. The site includes material about Goldman, several series of digitized documents, and writings by her. Several of Goldman's speeches and writings against World War I and conscription are included on the site. Below is a list of these documents:

Emma Goldman's address to the jury at her 1917 anti-conscription trial
"Preparedness: The Road to Universal Slaughter" First published in Mother Earth, December 1915, and also as a pamphlet
Excerpts from "Trial and Speeches of Alexander Berkman and Emma Goldman" Pamphlet published by Mother Earth Publishing Association, New York, N.Y., (September 1917)
"We Don't Believe In Conscription" Speech delivered by Emma Goldman, New York City, May 18, 1917
Meeting of No-Conscription League Including speech by Emma Goldman, New York, June 4, 1917
Speech Against Conscription and War Delivered by Emma Goldman, New York City, June 14, 1917
Address to the Jury, U.S. v. Emma Goldman and Alexander Berkman Delivered by Emma Goldman, New York City, July 9, 1917

In Swarthmore's Peace Collection.

From ATRIA, Institute on Gender Equality and Women's History, Amsterdam, Netherlands.

From OSU. Contains over 500 items documenting the work of Linus and Ava Pauling for international peace.

Includes information and images about the career of Bertha von Suttner and links to further information about the location of her papers.

In Swarthmore's Peace Collection.

Video interviews of progressive activists from Los Angeles, California. This online archive includes interviews with "activists, philanthropists, and people who....have dedicated much of their lives to crafting a more equitable society". The collection of interviews includes from a series called "Vietnam: the Power of Protest." This series includes an interview with C. Douglas Hostetter, and Cora Weiss whose papers are located in the Peace Collection.

At the Pennsylvania State University. The Collection is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images. Some of its components, including copies of records of the Montgomery Improvement Association (MIA) and many hours of oral history of the renowned civil liberties lawyer Clifford Durr, complement major holdings in other American archives. Activists include John Beecher, Stokely Carmichael, Clifford and Virginia Durr, Charles Gomillion, Lester Hankerson, Myles Horton, and E. D. Nixon.

A commercial website with some information and lots of links to other web resources about Nobel Prize winners. There is a list of all Peace prize winners from 1901 to the present.

A series of websites created by Edward W. Lollis, of Peace Partners International, covering the history of various peace and social justice related monuments around the world, with links to museums and other sites.