Research Guides: Peace History Resources Online: Other Links

Archive and Collection Resources

Activist Video Archive
Video interviews of progressive activists from Los Angeles, California. This on line archive includes interviews with "activists, philanthropists, and people who....have dedicated much of their lives to crafting a more equitable society". The collection of interviews includes from a series called "Vietnam: the Power of Protest." This series includes an interview with C. Douglas Hostetter, and Cora Weiss whose papers are located in the Peace Collection.
Antiwar and Radical History Project - Pacific Northwest
Antiwar Songs
The Struggle for Free Speech at the City College of New York, 1931-1942
Danish Peace Posters
Digitized by Danish peace historian, Holger Terp. Posters dating from 1960s to present.
Erich Maria Remarque Peace Center
Erich Maria Remarque Gesellschaft was founded in Osnabrück. The aim of this literary association is to promote and support "humanistic culture, art, sciences and research through cultivating Erich Maria Remarque's heritage and range of thought". The site includes a List of Publications by and concerning Remarque, the chronological Table of Life and Works, the Catalog of the International Imprints, and a List of Writings
Esperanto
From the Austrian National Archives (site in German); an online exhibit from the Austrian National Archives, linking the European peace movement in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century with the Esperanto movement to create an international language. Photographs and biographical information of movement leaders are included.
FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room
The FOIA Reading Room at the Federal Bureau of Investigation, also known as The Vault, has a number of FBI files of various individuals and organizations available at its website.
more...less...
The following may be of especial interest to peace historians and researchers.

Jane Addams (188 pages)
Anti Imperialist League Anit-war movement American Civil Liberties Union (78 pages)
American Friends Service Committee (3,498 pages)
Pearl Buck (221 pages)
Cesar Chavez (2,021 pages)
Clergy and Laity Concerned about Vietnam (1,699 pages)
Daily Worker Dorothy Day (581 pages)
Albert Einstein (1,756 pages)
Highlander Folk School (337 pages)
Abbie Hoffman (13,262 pages)
Kent State Shooting (1,146 pages)
John Winston Lennon (248 pages)
Martin Luther King (16,659 pages, 201 pages available for viewing on .pdf)
KPFA-Pacifica Radio (27 pages)
Linus Pauling (2,419 pages)
Jeannette Rankin (96 pages)
Bayard Rustin
Religious Society of Friends (314 pages)
Julius and Ethel Rosenberg (approx. 142,000 pages)
Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC)
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) (2,887 pages)
Weathermen (420 pages)
Howard Zinn (423 pages)
The Golden Rule Project
Historic photographs and information about the sailing ship The Golden Rule Included on this site is information about the restoration of "The Golden Rule" by Veterans for Peace, and plans for its future use in reconciliation projects around the world.
Institute for Theology and Peace
130,000 titles relevant to research into peace ethics from the individual disciplines of theology and other sciences has been taken into account.
International Institute of Social History
Research institute in Amsterdam, Netherlands, that houses the records of the War Resisters International and the International Fellowship of Reconciliation.
Nobel Institute Library
The Norwegian Nobel Institute Library is a depository library for publications from the following international organizations: the United Nations, (and its forerunner the League of Nations), the European Union, the Council of Europe, the International Labour Organization, the International Court of Justice, the World Bank, the World Trade Organization, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, the International Maritime Organization, and the European Free Trade Association. A microform collection was started in 1991, consisting of historical documents within the Library's fields. The Library's database may be searched online at their website.
Open Vault (WGBH)
A project of WGBH in Boston and: "provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools." For those interested in peace history, there are items included on the Vietnam war, nuclear deterrence, disarmament and civil rights.
A Piece of the Palace (at the Hague)
Site including activities in 2013 celebrating the centenary of the The Peace Palace at The Hague.
Elizabethtown College's High Library Peace Pamphlet Collection
The digitized pamphlets in this collection include more than 30 Church of the Brethren and other pamphlets that focus on peace, historic peace churches, conscientious objectors and alternative service.
PeaceDocs
These include narratives, original sources, bibliographies, and other reference materials, some hosted on this site, some linked to e-book sites or online stores like Amazon.com, and others to libraries and online archives of peace and justice.
Pentecostal and Holiness Pacifism
Site by Jay Beaman covering the history of pacifism and conscientious objection during World War I in the Pentecostal and Holiness traditions.
Phoenix of Hiroshima
Film footage from Universal Newsreel of the Phoenix of Hiroshima, a sailing ship that delivered medical supplies to North Vietnam in 1967. The trip was sponsored by A Quaker Action Group (finding aid for AQAG Records). This short film shows crew and ship leaving Japan for Vietnam. (The pertinent section of film starts at the 2:30 point).
Plowshares Digital Archives
A collaboration of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges, the Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies provides primary documents - including minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals - ranging in date from the 1700s to the present. The archive chronicles the social justice efforts of the students and faculty of these colleges as well as the members of their affiliated historic peace-churches - Quakers, Mennonites and the Church of the Brethren.
Rwanda Youth and Children's Testimonies Project
This collection contains 864 testimonies that were written in exercise books by students in Rwandan high schools between late 1999 and early 2000. Each testimony depicts the first-hand account of a child’s experiences from the beginning of the 1994 genocide in Rwanda until the child was rescued from the University of South Florida Libraries Holocaust & Genocide Studies Center
Suyama Project
UCLA Asian American Studies Center's Suyama Project aims to preserve the history of Japanese American resistance during World War II, including, but not limited to the 100th/442nd Regimental Combat Team draftees, Army and draft resisters, No-Nos, renunciants, and other Nikkei dissidents of World War II. Named for Dr. Eji Suyama.
"This Week in Peace History"
Written by Carl Bunin and published by Peacebuttons.info. Changing electronic newsletter noting anniversary of peace and social justice events around the world. Available as website or as email. Described as: "This Week in History is a collection designed to help us appreciate the fact that we are part of a rich history advocating peace and social justice. While the entries often focus on large and dramatic events there are so many smaller things done everyday to promote peace and justice. To the real peace advocates - YOU!"
William Edgar Borah Outlawry of War Foundation
At the University of Idaho, "the purpose of the Foundation is to establish in the University of Idaho a lectureship for the promotion of a better understanding of international relations, of the age-old struggle with the baffling problem of war, and of the vital part played in its solution by William Edgar Borah. . . . . Since 1948 the foundation has underwritten annual conferences concerned with specific facets of the general theme, the causes of war and the conditions for peace."

Nuclear Programs & Protest

The Enola Gay Controversy
Smithsonian's 1995 proposed exhibit. This website contains references to more than 900 documents covering the entire vigorous and nationally publicized controversy over a proposal by the Smithsonian to mark the 50th anniversary of the end of World War II in 1995 with an exhibit examining the consequences of atomic warfare.
Great Peace March for Global Nuclear Disarmament (1986)
"A Strange Place Called Home: My Walk Across America on the Great Peace March". Laura Monagan's memoir/blog of the "people, the events, the places, and the whole amazing experience" of walking across the U.S. in 1986 to protest the nuclear arms race.
Hanford Site Historic District
Manhattan Project, 1943; Cold War era, 1947-1990 The Hanford, Washington Cultural and Historic Resources Program of the United States Department of Energy, Richland Operations Office. Resources include history of the Manhattan and Cold War Eras, the built environment, and engineering achievements. Hanford's Reactors began separations processing using actual irradiated uranium feed on April 13, 1945. The plutonium (Pu) nitrate produced was shipped to the Los Alamos Site in New Mexico for fabrication into atomic weapons. Although too late to be used in the weapons tested and used in WWII, the plutonium was used in many early and prototypical atomic tests, including some of the earliest tests at the Nevada Test Site in 1951. The facility was closed down in the 1990s.
Nevada Test Site Oral History Project
The Nevada Test Site Oral History Project at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is a comprehensive program dedicated to documenting, preserving and disseminating the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during the era of Cold War nuclear testing. Project participants told the test site story from differing experiences and points of view about this often controversial subject. Interviews with 27 peace protesters (from 2004-2007), are included. Researchers may download audible files or full transcripts of the interviews.
Our Move
Project on the American-Soviet Citizen Diplomacy Movement. Our Move is a " project is dedicated to the cause of peace and nonproliferation of weapons of mass destruction (WMD). At the heart of Our Move is the story of the American-Soviet citizen diplomacy movement, including the historic joint peace march in 1987." The web site include digitized copies of documents, newspaper clippings, magazines, and photographs from various events in the 1980s concerning efforts to end the Cold War between U.S. and former Soviet citizens.
The Ribbon Project, The (1982-1985)
"Kansans and The Peace Ribbon Around the Pentagon in the 1980s," by Victoria Janzen. The Ribbon Project (1982-1985) was long-term protest against the proliferation of nuclear weapons. Thousands of participants from every state in the United States created cloth panels depiciting all that people would not want to lose in a nuclear war. Women especially were attraced to the sewing project. Some panels were painted rather than sewn. Over 25,000 panels were created, eventually tied together and placed around the outside of the Pentagon in Washington, D.C. "Kansans and The Peace Ribbon Around the Pentagon in the 1980s," an article (with images), by Victoria Janzen may be found at the Bethel College website.
Seabrook, NH Nuclear Plant Occupation Page
Created by Harold Marcuse, one of the first demonstrators at Seabrook to be arrested for protesting against the plant in 1977. This website includes photographs and links to dozens of documents and other materials connected to the historic and current protests.

Syracuse Peace Council

Newsletter "Peace Newsletters," 1936-2000
On line archive of the Syracuse Peace Council's newsletter, Peace Newsletters, 1936-2000. The Syracuse Peace Council, based in Syracuse, New York, was founded in 1936 as a peace and social justice organization.
SPC Website
Information about the current work of the SPC.
Norman Whitney Papers Finding Aid
The archives of the the papers of Norman Whitney, one of the founders of the SPC, are held by the Peace Collection.