Research Guides: HIST 061: Histories of Water (SC): Articles & Books

Articles & Books (Environmental Topics)

GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly research, government publications and general-interest articles on environmental topics.

Search Example: Articles mentioning the National Green Tribunal (18 results)
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and environmental and sustainability issues in such categories as energy systems, healthcare, agriculture, transportation, economics, and ecology. Allows users to navigate by issue, organization, and country portals. Includes news, video, primary source documents, interactive maps, contextual multimedia, customizable journals, and news and refereed case studies.

Finding Scholarly Books & Articles

Books

Start searching Tripod to find books about your topic.

Not finding enough? Expand your search to Worldcat (this lets you find books that the TriCo Libraries don't own).
Found an interesting book that's not in Tropod? Request from another library using EZBorrow (delivery in ~5 days).
Book not available from EZBorrow? Request it through Interlibrary Loan (delivery in 1-2 weeks).

Articles

Scholarly article databases make it easier to find relevant research published in peer-reviewed journals. Many databases will link you directly to the PDF for each articles.

Can't find the PDF/full article? Try searching Tripod directly for the article (usually the article title works best).
Article isn't in Tripod? Get a PDF by email: fill out the online Article Delivery form (turnaround time usually 1-3 days).

Useful databases for finding scholarly journal articles in history:

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles on United States and Canadian history. (For articles on non-US history topics, search the Historical Abstracts database instead.)
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.