Research Guides: ARCH 104: Agriculture and Urban Revolution: Images

Finding Images

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Beazley Archive Pottery Database (BAPD)
The BAPD is the world's largest database of ancient Greek painted pottery (‘Greek vases’). It contains records of more than 130,000 ancient pots and 250,000 images. Nearly all of the pots included were made during the 6th to 4th centuries BC, and about three quarters of them were made in Athens.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search the online collection of artifacts and art in the collection at the MET. Entries may include images and descriptions of the objects.
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Anthropology and Archaeology Collection
Search online for artifacts from anicent cultures in the collection at the Penn Museum. Many entries have images and descriptions of objects.
Oriental Institute Research Archives Catalog
Indexes articles, book reviews, monographs, and single volumes from sets. The catalog of the Oriental Institute Research Archives at the University of Chicago contains entries for ancient Near East materials cataloged since 1987 with complete analytics (essays, articles and book reviews) for materials cataloged since 1990. The catalog also includes earlier materials, but not comprehensively.
British Museum Collection Online
Use the Advanced Search to specify topic, time period and other parameters.