Research Guides: ANTH 329: Politics of Belonging and Exclusion in the "New India" (BMC): Background Reading

Best Bets for Getting Started

Reference sources and scholarly books can provide a good overview of a topic. Look for literature review chapters and/or bibliographies that can point you to other books and articles that specifically address your research question.

Annual Review of Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Review articles covering the discipline of anthropology including the subfields of archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics, regional studies, and sociocultural anthropology. 1972-present.
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on anthropology.
eHRAF (e-Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains ethnographic and other documents describing the cultures of the world. Includes books, journal articles, and dissertations that are compiled into culture profiles. Many documents are in full-text.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

Encyclopedia of India (2005)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0684313499
Print volumes available for use at Bryn Mawr or Swarthmore.
A Companion to the Anthropology of India (2011)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781444390575
Contributions by leading experts present up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of key topics such as population and life expectancy, civil society, social-moral relationships, caste and communalism, youth and consumerism, the new urban middle class, environment and health, tourism, public and religious cultures, politics and law
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Indian Culture (2012)
ISBN: 9780521516259
The book provides accounts of literature, theatre, film, modern and popular art, music, television and food; it also explores in detail social divisions, customs, communications and daily life. In a series of engaging, erudite and occasionally moving essays the contributors, drawn from a variety of disciplines, examine not merely what constitutes modern Indian culture, but just how wide-ranging are the cultures that persist in the regions of India.
Everyday Life in South Asia, 2nd ed. (2010)
ISBN: 9780253013576
This anthology provides a view of the lives of ordinary citizens in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. It explores key themes in understanding the region, including gender, caste, class, religion, globalization, economic liberalization, nationalism, and emerging modernities. New readings focus attention on the experiences of the middle classes, migrant workers, and IT professionals, and on media, consumerism, and youth culture.