EALC 200: Approaches to the Study of East Asian Cultures (BMC/HC) Spring 2025

Holds a large array of key classical and traditional Chinese texts, many digitized from major collections (e.g., Harvard's Yenching). Highly useful for studying traditional literary, religious, philosophical, and political-theoretical texts. Specifically helpful for sourcing original Chinese text, page scans, side-by-side Chinese with English translation, parallel passage searching, Chinese text with built-in dictionary glossing, and more.

Search across 63 primary source databases from Adam Matthew covering historical, cultural and political topics from around the world. The databases reproduce letters, diaries, government records, illustrations and other materials drawn from museum and library collections.
Relevant individual databases within the collection include:
China, America and the Pacific
China: Culture and Society
China Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1931-1952
Meiji Japan

Holds a large array of key classical and traditional Chinese texts, many digitized from major collections (e.g., Harvard's Yenching). Highly useful for studying traditional literary, religious, philosophical, and political-theoretical texts. Specifically helpful for sourcing original Chinese text, page scans, side-by-side Chinese with English translation, parallel passage searching, Chinese text with built-in dictionary glossing, and more.

A resource from the New York Public Library, which includes a large number of Japanese illustrated books.

The Met has over 400,000 high-resolution images of works in its collection. You can limit your search by geographical location and time period.

Important collections of Asian art, which can be either browsed or searched.

You can browse items from the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean sections of the museum.

Search and browse more than 8,000 items from the museum's collection online.

Maps of East Asia published in a wide variety of countries from 1606 to 1895. Materials from the University of Southern California.

Images of Shanghai from 1937 through 1949, including documentation of its Jewish community.

Joseph was a member of the Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars (CCAS) Friendship Delegation in 1972. The collection, from UC San Diego, includes his photographs.

Posters from 1968 to 1989, from UC San Diego.

This collection from UCLA came from the theaters of Kamigata and cover a period of nearly 100 years from the Kansei era (1789-1801) to Meiji 10 (1877). The collection contains two types of banzuke: yakuwari banzuke, lists of cast, and ezukushi, illustrated acts scenes from plays, which were distributed or sold separately for kabuki performances at the theaters.

Images from the last days of World War II, from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo.

From the University of Southern California, this digital collection includes materials from Americans who spent parts of their lives in Korea.

Materials documenting US involvement in the Pacific Rim from the 1840s to the 1940s. From the University of Southern California.

See the East Asia section in the linked page, which has sections for Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Tibetan materials.

This program attempts to capture images of materials that are in danger of being destroyed or which are very fragile. While this can mean that there is little information about the manuscripts in question, it can be an invaluable resource for finding manuscripts.