Research Guides: CSTS 206: Narratives of Ethical Leadership from the Past (HC): History and Criticism

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

(monasticism OR monastic OR monaster*) AND (egypt*) [Keyword search limited to publications from 2007-2018]

(socrates OR socratic) AND (politic*) [Subject search]

leader* [Title search] AND (classical OR greek* OR roman*) [Keyword search]

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Translations

Tripod often lists a translation under the author's name + translations + English:

cicero + translations + English [Advanced search on Authors] Newest titles sorted first

juvenal + translations + English [Advanced search on Authors]

Also note that some works have been translated multiple times, so that a Tripod search may lead to choices in terms of style and intended audience.

Wisdom Personified

Portrait of Socrates, marble, 1st century B.C.E.

Louvre Museum (Source: Flickr)

Finding Scholarly Studies in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.