Research Guides: ARTH 029: Architecture and Urbanism of Philadelphia (SC) Fall 2018: Local News & Papers

Current News

Philadelphia Inquirer
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.

Ethnic Newswatch
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.

Philly.com
Free website providing current information from the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News.
Philadelphia Neighborhoods - news from Temple Multimedia Urban Reporting Lab
Each semester students at Temple concentrate their news coverage in a targeted Philadelphia neighborhood, and then provide it with topical information and news from the community. Philadelphia Neighborhoods provides a form of hyper-local coverage missing from our urban communities: journalism street by street.
The Philadelphia Public School Notebook
A local publication that focuses on the Philadelphia School District.

Each annual issue of the Fall Guide features a large data spread about the performance of local high schools.
NewsWorks
The news website of local WHYY news.

New York Times
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.

America's Historical Newspapers
Search through 2,000+ historical newspapers published in the United States between 1690-1922. Includes publications from all 50 states, large cities and small towns, and a mix of major newspapers and titles with smaller circulations.

Philadelphia Tribune (Philadelphia, Pa. : 1884)
Founded in 1884, the Tribune is the oldest continually published African-American newspaper in the U.S. Available in full page images and article images from ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1912 - 2001) and in full text from Ethnic Newswatch (1991 - present).

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives)
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
Chronicling America
Provides full-text access to newspaper pages from 1900 to 1910 and abstracts about American newspapers published between 1690 to the present.

Historical Newspapers Online
Includes links to 79 historic Pennsylvania newspapers, including dates of online coverage

Bryn Mawr
library@brynmawr.edu
(610) 526-5276

Haverford
library@haverford.edu
(610) 896-1175

Swarthmore
librarian@swarthmore.edu
(610) 328-8493