ENGL 084: Human Rights and Literature: Borderzones of the Human (SC)

An annotated list of links to primary source collections related to the Holocaust. Use this list to find oral histories, diaries, and more.

This website offers an extensive list of annotated links to primary source collections. Scroll down just past the halfway point to find links related to the WWII period and the Holocaust.

Collection of video testimonies by Holocaust survivors, made available by the Yale Libraries

Includes links to video and audio testimonies, as well as other sources

Search the digitized archival collections of the Simon Wiesenthal Center, an NGO.

Collections of various kinds of documents related to the Holocaust

The Visual History Archive® is USC Shoah Foundation’s online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded significantly to include survivor and witness testimony from four other genocidal events: the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994) and the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996).

In addition to the interviews available on the Voice and Vision site, this page links to various collections that are also accessible online.

Large collection of recordings and transcripts for interviews with Holocaust survivors who later emigrated to the US. Interviews are broken down by topic and chronology. Some include video as well as audio.

Collection of oral histories of Holocaust survivors. For each interview, you can listen to the original audio, read an English translation, and read a transcript in the interview language.

"A phenomenon for the most part of the late 1950s, the 1960s, and the early 1970s, the yizkor books evoked by the Holocaust were edited, privately printed, and distributed (often free of charge) by committees of survivors of many hundreds of the former Jewish population centers of eastern Europe, and generally they culminate in lists of community members who did not survive the war."