Research Guides: ARTS 216: History of Photography from 1839 to the Present (HC) Spring 2018: Biography

Comprehensive Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).
Gale Biography in Context
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographical sources on over 325,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

General Biographical Sources

American National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. No living person is included.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.

Biographical Information from Photography Sources

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-08-24
Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1579583938
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Robin Lenman (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Has concise, authoritative entries.
The Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography by Quentin Bajac; Christian Caujolle
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
In outlining nearly two centuries of this innovative art form, this book touches on some of photography's key themes, from portraits and still lifes to sports and photojournalism. Photographic techniques are explained and the various approaches to photography around the world are examined.

Consult the 'Biographies' section which starts on page 202.
The Book of Photography by Anne H. Hoy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
The entries on individual photographers are woven into thematic chapters. This allows you to contextualize the photographers work into the history of photography.