Research Guides: ARTS 103/108: Arts Foundation—Photography (HC): Biographies and Handbooks

Available Online

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Subject entries, biographies, images, biographies, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).
Gale Biography in Context
Provides access to biographical sources on over 325,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

American National Biography
Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. No living person is included.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.

A World History of Photography by Naomi Rosenblum
ISBN: 0789209373

Publication Date: 2008-01-29
Photography by Mary Warner Marien
ISBN: 9780205988945

Publication Date: 2015

A rich account of the history of photography.
Photography in America by Miles Orvell
ISBN: 9780199314225

Publication Date: 2015-08-10

Organized by genres and modes, this text examines photography's different uses, going back to its beginnings and looking forward.

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-08-24

Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
ISBN: 1579583938

Publication Date: 2005-11-15

Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Robin Lenman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Has short concise entries.
The Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography by Quentin Bajac; Christian Caujolle
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

In outlining nearly two centuries of this innovative art form, this book touches on some of photography's key themes, from portraits and still lifes to sports and photojournalism. Photographic techniques are explained and the various approaches to photography around the world are examined.

Consult the 'Biographies' section which starts on page 202.
The Book of Photography by Anne H. Hoy
Publication Date: 2005-11-01

The entries on individual photographers are woven into thematic chapters. This allows you to contextualize the photographers work into the history of photography.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Photography by Nathalie Herschdorfer
ISBN: 9780500544471

Publication Date: 2015-11-23

The art curator editor presents 1200 entries written by experts from 16 countries. Includes many biographical sketches of photographers.

Oxford Bibliographies in Art History
Provides expert recommendations, with explanatory blurbs, for important works from books to articles to websites to databases. Covers a wide range of topics, monuments, artists, and more.