This group is a member organization of the American Anthropological Association. It includes a helpful page about what Medical Anthropology is and provides resources for those wanting to learn more about this field of scholarship and practice.
Medical Anthropology Handbooks and Edited Volumes
A Companion to Medical Anthropology by Merrill Singer (Editor); Pamela I. Erickson (Editor)
A Companion to Medical Anthropology examines the current issues, controversies, and state of the field in medical anthropology today. Examines the key issues and current debates in medical anthropology Provides an expert view of the major topics and themes to concern the discipline since its founding in the 1960s Written by leading international scholars in medical anthropology Covers environmental health, global health, biotechnology, syndemics, nutrition, substance abuse, infectious disease, and sexuality and reproductive health, and other topics
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology by Lenore Manderson (Editor); Elizabeth Cartwright (Editor); Anita Hardon (Editor)
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. Case studies are included, presented by over 60 authors from around the world, reflecting the diverse cultural contexts in which people experience health, illness, and healing.
Understanding and Applying Medical Anthropology by Peter J. Brown (Editor); Svea Closser (Editor)
The text provides specific examples and case studies of research as it is applied to a range of health settings: from cross-cultural clinical encounters to cultural analysis of new biomedical technologies and the implementation of programs in global health settings.