Skip to main content

EALC 256: Zen Thought, Zen Culture, Zen History (HC/BMC)

EALC 256: Zen Thought, Zen Culture, Zen History (Glassman) Fall 2017

Best Bets

The following databases provide access to journal articles from many disciplines. I recommend trying out these databases first.  See what comes up and then change your search tactics accordingly.

The following databases are very specific to certain subjects. Once you have an idea of your paper topic, try searching in these databases but if you don't find what you are looking for, don't fret! Try the broader databases as well (see above). 

History journals and indexes

Use the following sources if you want historical background on any given topic. 

  • Historical Abstracts: this index provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding US and Canada). 
  • Cambridge History of Japan: Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of Japan from the prehistoric period through the modern era.  Bryn Mawr has the volumes available online.
  • Cambridge History of China: An excellent resource that covers topics based on historical period. Some are available online. 

Image Sources

If you need high quality images for your papers, be sure to cite where you took your image from. Some reputable places to do so are the following databases, indexes, and reputable websites:

  • ARTstor A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Register on the site in order to make personal image group folders and download images.
  • CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
  • Japanese Digital Resources: Art : This page from the University of Pennsylvania identifies many websites for images. See in particular the section for databases of prints.
  • TriArte: Arts and Artifacts database of the TriColleges: TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.