A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.
Part of the Wellcome Library collection, Wellcome Images "contains historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more."
Offers access to thousands of 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America. Also includes historical maps of Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania, and the world. Includes maps at various levels of specificity (e.g., city, country, continent). Coverage varies; new maps are added continually.
Include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Includes 1200 essays on historical photography worldwide. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being ‘a solution in search of a problem’ when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying" or "georectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map. Watch a video to tour the site and learn how to rectify a map yourself.