LAJSA serves as a network for scholars who are working on related themes but who are geographically distant from one another. Members maintain contact with one another through the electronic listserv “LAJSA-List,” the News & Announcements on the website, regional and international scholarly conferences, and the online publication Latin American Jewish Studies, which carries critical reviews of new scholarly work, brief articles, interviews, and abstracts. Our members and subscribers include major research libraries as well as individual scholars and others with expertise in the field of Latin American Jewish Studies.
The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives (AJA), located on the historic Cincinnati campus of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, was established in 1947 by renowned historian, Dr. Jacob Rader Marcus to collect, preserve, and make available for research, materials on the history of Jews and Jewish communities in the Western Hemisphere, including data of a political, economic, social, cultural, and religious nature.
The Center for Jewish History in New York City illuminates history, culture, and heritage. The Center provides a collaborative home for five partner organizations: American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
The partners’ archives comprise the world’s largest and most comprehensive archive of the modern Jewish experience outside of Israel. The collections span a thousand years, with more than 5 miles of archival documents (in dozens of languages and alphabet systems), more than 500,000 volumes, as well as thousands of artworks, textiles, ritual objects, recordings, films, and photographs.
This online catalog is gathering records for all books printed in Latin America prior to 1851 as well as books in Spanish published in the United States and the Philippines. Later it plans to provide full-text access for titles.
Presents material on colonial theater, religious festivals, popular dance and music, upper class entertainments, and bull fighting. Includes excerpts and images from documents housed in Mexican archives and libraries.
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."