Research Guides: SPAN 080: Los hijos de la Malinche: Representaciones culturales de la Revolución Mexicana: Film Reviews

Movie Review Websites

Internet Movie Database This link opens in a new window
Contains filmography listings for films, actors, producers, directors, and others associated with filmmaking. Provides plot summaries, years of release, production companies, distributors, Academy Award information, and reviews for more than 300,000 movies. Covers 1888-present.

MetaCritic.com
Provides reviews for both recent and earlier films, videos, music, books and games.
Movie Review Query Engine
Provides links to reviews for over 25,000 films. Registration required for access to some reviews. Updated regularly.
Movie Review Intelligence
Analyzes movie reviews from more than 70 U.S. and Toronto newspapers, magazines, alternative weeklies, web sites and NPR. 2009-present.

Getting Started

Before looking for reviews, it can be helpful to obtain background information on the film.

Use the IMDB for recent films, or to verify when a television series aired.
Use Film Indexes Online to verify the date the film was released.

Finding Film Reviews in Databases

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Screen Studies Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on films from around the world, including production and cast information, plot summaries, background notes, awards listings, and citations to reviews and other secondary literature. Offers simultaneous searching of the American Film Institute Catalog, the British Film Institute's Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals. Covers 1893 - present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Finding Older Revews - Print Indexes

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The critical index
Covers 1946-1973.
The film index
Covers the early years of film up to 1936.
Film review index
Volume 1: 1882-1949, Volume 2:1950-1985. Alphabetical by film title.
Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals
Film periodicals from their beginning to 1971
An index to short and feature film reviews in the moving picture world
Covers the early years of film, 1907-1915.
The new film index
Covers 1930-1970.
The New York times film reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1913-1984
Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected film criticism
Covers 1896-1960
Social sciences & humanities index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1965-1974
Variety film reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1907-1996.