Skip to main content

HIST 337: Global Health Histories in Africa (BMC)

HIST 337: Global Histories in Africa (Ngalamulume) Spring 2017

Bryn Mawr's Special Collections

Bryn Mawr has an extensive collection of works on Africa from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, including memoirs, travel accounts, colonial guides, government reports, magazines, and brochures  Overviews of our holdings and guides to particular collections can be found on the Special Collections web site.

The book collections are included in Tripod.  It is possible to limit your search to just the Special Collections holdings by choosing “Bryn Mawr Special Collections” from the Tripod Classic menu box that normally reads “View Entire Collection.”

Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday, open until 8:00 pm on Wednesdays.   An appointment is a good idea for your initial visit to talk about resources for your project.

Philadelphia Libraries

Philadelphia is rich in historical libraries, many of them founded in the 18th and 19th centuries, and a number of them have extensive collections on the history of science and medicine.   The libraries most likely to be useful for this course are:

Academy of Natural Sciences at Drexel University.  (1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway).  Founded in 1812, the Academy has sponsored scientific expeditions throughout the world.  The Academy's library and archives contains the archives for many of these expeditions, as well as a library of 250,000 works on natural history dating from the 16th century.  Hours: 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm, Monday - Friday.

College of Physicians of Philadelphia.  (19 South 22nd Street).  Founded in 1787, the College maintains an extensive library on the history of medicine. Hours: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday.

Drexel University College of Medicine. The Legacy Center.  (2900 West Queen Lane). The Archives for the predecessor schools for the Drexel University College of Medicine, including the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania, founded in 1850.  Hours: 9:30 am - 4;30 pm, Monday - Friday.

Presbyterian Historical Society.  (425 Lombard Street).  Includes extensive collections of letters and reports from missionaries in Africa in the late 19th century and much of the 20th. 

For a listing of other major historical research libraries in the region, see the website for the Philadelphia Area Consortium for Special Collections Libraries: http://pacscl.org/

 

Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine.  Based in Philadelphia, the Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine promotes public and scholarly understanding of the multitude of ways in which science, technology, and medicine shape our lives. The website provides links to conferences, activities, and collections in the region.