Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays. Essays include several related to Latin America including:
• Arts of the Mission Schools in Mexico
Offers abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers 1975-2007.
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.
ArtStor provides 13 thematic groups of images curated by Latin American historian, Rachel Moore. The groups range in time from the first colonial encounters through the age of independence. The images convey important historical information and represent a variety of view points.
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."
This innovative and provocative volume focuses on the historical development of racial thinking and imagining in Mexico and the southwestern United States over a period of almost five centuries, from the earliest decades of Spanish colonial rule and the birth of a multiracial colonial population, to the present. T