Research Guides: PHYS 331: Advanced Experimental Physics (BMC): Searching for Journal Articles

Searching for Journal Articles

The following databases index journal articles across various disciplines. By entering your search terms, you can find out what scholarly articles have peen published on a topic or by a particular author.

Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WoS allows you to search for journal articles from over 12,000 scholarly journals and 148,000 conference proceedings across the sciences as well as in the social sciences, and arts and humanities.

** Searching Using Web of Science - this guide will give you more information about how to search and use Web of Science most effectively.

ArXiv.org ePrint Archive This link opens in a new window
arXiv is a repository of electronic preprints (also known as e-prints) of scientific papers in mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.

Journal Collections

PROLA : Physical review online archive
PROLA provides full access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal (as early as 1893). PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.

Scitation (SPIN Web)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the American Institute of Physics (AIP), Scitation provides an interface for the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database. This allows for searching and browsing of articles from major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals. Also includes conference proceedings, preprints, and even MedLine as one of the searchable collections. Scitation publications contain forward links to articles that cite it, links to related articles, errata, editorials commentaries and author-supplied supplementary material which can include multimedia.

IOPScience
IOPscience from the Institute of Physics, includes ALL IOP published content back to 1874. Also included are 6 journals published by Turpion, a publisher that covers the Russian physics literature in translation. The fields covered include physics, mathematics, engineering, chemistry and biology. A useful journal collection with worldwide coverage of the literature. Document types retrieved include journal articles, eprints (advanced online and arXiv articles) and news & events.

		Joyce Angelucci Bryn Mawr College Profile & Guides
		Carol Howe Haverford College Contact & Guides
		Andrea Baruzzi Swarthmore College Contact & Guides