Journal of Mathematics and Music aims to advance the use of mathematical modelling and computation in music theory. The Journal focuses on mathematical approaches to musical structures and processes, including mathematical investigations into music-theoretic or compositional issues as well as mathematically motivated analyses of musical works or performances. In consideration of the deep unsolved ontological and epistemological questions concerning knowledge about music, the Journal is open to a broad array of methodologies and topics, particularly those outside of established research fields such as acoustics, sound engineering, auditory perception, linguistics etc. Three issues of the Journal are published per annual volume, with one issue devoted exclusively to a single topic. The online edition of the Journal provides extended material in the form of sound files, applets, or similar electronic media.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
Provides citations to the world's mathematical literature including journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Topics covered include all aspects of mathematics, statistics, and related areas. Cover 1940-present.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and MEDLINE. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage varies.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.