Naxos Music Library World is one of the most comprehensive collections of world music available online. It offers over 60,800* tracks from more than 6,380* albums. Over 13,100* artists are represented. Naxos Music Library World comprises the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways and many other labels. All this can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, homes, or offices. Naxos Music Library World is owned by Naxos Digital Services US, Incorporated. (*As of April 1, 2016)
Contemporary world music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more.
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, kinship, political organization, conflict and resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.