Research Guides: ARTS 251: Photography: Materials and Techniques (HC) Fall 2017: Photo Prints

Resources for Photography

Haverford College Libraries have very broad collections in photography with significant depth in a variety of specific areas. Not only is there an extensive collection of photography books filling the Philips Wing and other areas in Magill Library, but Special Collections has over 2500 prints, many by well-known photographers such as Walker Evans and Nan Goldin.

This guide lays out tools and strategies for accessing Haverford's photography resources as well as those in the Philadelphia area and beyond. These materials can also provide ways to critically analyze the work of a photographer or the development of a technique.

Don't hesitate to get in touch with Julie Coy or Margaret Schaus (email addresses in the right column) for assistance with finding more material for your research paper.

.30 Bullet piercing an apple, 1964 by Harold Eugene Edgerton

Photographs held by Haverford

When you have selected a print or prints you wish to view, you can arrange to see the print by contacting hc-special@haverford.edu or going into Special Collections during their open hours Monday through Friday.

Haverford Master List of Fine Art Photographs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a two-volume listing of the fine art photographs in Haverford's Special Collections. Includes information on photographic technique and photographers' life span. The coverage ends with photographs acquired in 2012. For updates on newly acquired photographs, see the paper copy of the list kept in Special Collections which is updated with hand-written notes.

TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges This link opens in a new window
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. For finding photographs, you can enter the photographer's name in the Quick Search box. You can see Haverford's full holdings by choosing Browse the Collection by College and then Photographs. The Filter Results give listings for individual photographers.
Note too that different information is displayed about a photo according to the View you choose..
ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.

Photographs Held by the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Searching the Collections
This link is for the general search page.
You can look for a specific artist (ex. Eggleston).
Or for a particular technique as a keyword (ex. chromogenic). See also the keyword search dye transfer.

Approximately a third of the museum's collections are digitized online at this point.