Handbook of International Migration
by Steven J. Gold (Editor); Stephanie J. Nawyn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
This handbook offers a conceptual approach to the study of international migration, exploring the many modes of exit, reception and incorporation which involve varied populations in disparate political, economic, social and cultural contexts. How do these movements also facilitate the transmission of ideologies and identities, political and cultural practices and economic resources? Featuring forty-seven essays written by leading international and multidisciplinary scholars, the book offers a contemporary, integrated and comprehensive resource for students and scholars of sociology, politics, human geography, law, history, urban planning, journalism, and health care.
A Companion to Diaspora and Transnationalism
by Quayson; Girish Daswani (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
Offers a ground-breaking combined discussion of the concepts of diaspora and transnationalism. Newly commissioned essays by leading scholars provide interdisciplinary perspectives that link together the concepts in new and important ways. A wide-ranging collection which reviews the most significant developments and provides valuable insights into current key debates in transnational and diaspora studies.
Global Refugee Crisis: A Reference Handbook
by Mark Gibney
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
There are two disparate components to the global refugee crisis: first, there are about 46 million refugees and Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), most of whom are struggling to survive in the poorest and most violent countries in the world, and second, our interpretation of international human rights law allows this state of affairs to worsen. Refugee protection has been a longstanding policy that ostensibly protects victims of human rights violations from other countries. In actuality, protection is largely negated by systematic efforts by industrialized states to reduce the number of refugees arriving at the borders.
Introduces interdisciplinary research, through the writing of scholars, from diverse perspectives that include anthropology, development studies, geography, history, political science and sociology. Explores how nations and cultural identities are being transformed by their dynamic, shifting borders where mobility is sometimes facilitated, other times impeded or prevented. Reflects recent significant growth in the importance of understanding the distinctive characteristics of borders and frontiers, including cross-border cooperation, security and controls, migration and population displacements, hybridity, and transnationalism.
Also available online.
Crossing Cultures compiles conference papers examining the effect of globalism on art and art history. It explores the themes of conflict, migration and convergence in the visual, symbolic and artistic exchanges between cultures throughout history. Note in particular Sections 6 and 7 on the Renaissance and the Early Modern periods.
Asians have settled in every country in the Western Hemisphere; some are recent arrivals, other descendents of immigrants who arrived centuries ago. D&D explores this genuinely transnational Asian American experience.
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. The set fully documents and examines every major immigrant group and every era through detailed analysis of social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors. Archival and contemporary photographs, along with hundreds of pages of documents and illustrations, further illuminate the information provided.
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas with coverage from 2002 to the present.
Provides full-text access to over 500 reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, etc., in various fields including art, law, literature, social sciences, and technology.
Offers a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative reference sources,including Britannica's entire encyclopaedic database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica book of the year. Current Coverage.
Original reporting and analysis on issues in the news, focusing on the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends, and technology. Published weekly, 1991-present.
Contains over 8,000 full-text reports on finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education, women's studies, etc. for 53 countries. Updated weekly.
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Traces the history and cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. Featuring original contributions by distinguished international scholars, this reference work explores aspecst of the civilized world from literature and law to philosophy and the sciences.
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Civic Exchange is an independent Hong Kong-based public policy think tank with a mission to promote civic education, conduct research and publicize the results so as to provide objective information to the public concerning economic, social and environmental issues.
The Development Research Group is the World Bank’s in-house research department, which aims to conduct research to help guide development policy for the Bank and external clients alike. With nine programs, it produces the majority of the Bank’s research and enjoys a high international profile