ECON 217: Health Economics (BMC)

Run by the United States Census Bureau, SIPP collects data and measures change for many topics including: economic well-being, health care utilization and medical expenditures, disability income, health insurance coverage, etc.

The primary source of monthly labor force statistics, the CPS is a monthly survey that includes supplemental questions on topics like health insurance coverage, medicare, medicaid, etc.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) data on hospitalization and emergency utilization. Includes data at the state and county level.

The NCHS includes links to most major federal sources of health data and statistics. Use Fastats to look for statistics by topic, and to navigate the site.

A product of the Department of Health and Human Services, HRSA is a portal to governmental data on various health-related topics.

Run by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey is a set of large-scale surveys of families, individuals, healthcare providers, and employers across the US. MEPS collects data on: what health services Americans use, frequency of use and cost of services, how Americans pay for healthcare, health insurance cost, scope, and breadth

The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) is the principal source of information on the health of the United States population. NHIS provides information about the amount, distribution, and effects of illness and disability in the US. Run since 1957, NHIS collects data through personal household interviews.

SHADAC's Data Center (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and a part of the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota) is a great way to explore coverage, access to care, and access to and cost of employer-sponsored insurance within states by characteristics (i.e. age, race/ethnicity, and education level). You can also compare across states and look at trends over time.

This annual survey of employers provides a detailed look at trends in employer-sponsored health coverage including premiums, employee contributions, cost-sharing provisions, and employer opinions. Archives: Data 1998-2014. The 2015 survey included almost 2,000 interviews with non-federal public and private firms.

Country-level health-related economic indicators in the World Bank Databank. Includes links to HealthStats and Service Delivery Indicators.

World Health Organization (WHO) database of internationally comparable national health expenditures. Data back to 1995 for some variables.

World Health Organization (WHO) main health statistics repository. Includes themed collections of indicators on Health Financing and Health Workforce. Country level data.