Research Guides: PHIL 399: Senior Seminar (HC)-old: Finding Books and Articles

Philosophy Indexes

Philosopher's Index
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

PhilPapers
Will often index more resources than Philosopher's Index. You might want to use their "fuzzy" search option in Advanced search to broaden your search results.
Philosophy Compass
On the right hand side is a search field. Use this resource to find peer-reviewed journal articles.

Tripod
Tripod now searches for individual journal articles as well as the Tri-College libraries’ collection of books, journal titles, multimedia materials, databases and more.

WorldCat
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
JSTOR
Access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in most academic disciplines. For journals, coverage is from first issue through three to five years ago.

JSTOR
Access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in most academic disciplines. For journals, coverage is from first issue through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Arts and Humanities Database
This ProQuest full-text journal database, formerly known as "ProQuest Arts and Humanities Full Text" has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Subscribers to any of these databases - including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosopher's Index amongst others - can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.