Skip to main content

HIST 319: From Chocolate to Cocaine: Drugs and European Imperialism (BMC)

HIST 319: From Chocolate to Cocaine: Drugs and European Imperialism (Black) Fall 2016

Overview

Bryn Mawr has an extensive collection of works on Africa, Asia and the Americas from the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, including memoirs, travel accounts, and descriptions of colonies and colonial practices.   Overviews of our holdings and guides to particular collections can be found on the Special Collections web site

The book collections are included in Tripod.  It is possible to limit your search to just the Special Collections holdings by choosing “Bryn Mawr Special Collections” from the Tripod menu box that normally reads “View Entire Collection.”

Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday, open until 8:00 pm on Wednesdays.   An appointment is a good idea for your initial visit to talk about resources for your project. 

Travel Accounts and Colonial Guides

Bryn Mawr's Rare Books Department has an extensive collection of books from the 17th to the early 20th centuries on European colonies in Asia, Africa and the Americas, including descriptions written by travelers, and guides to European colonies and their products.  A few examples include:

Richard Ligon, A true & exact history of the island of Barbados . . . London: Printed for H. Moseley, 1657.  f F2041 .L44 1657

Bryan Edwards, The history, civil and commercial, of the British colonies in the West Indies.  London: Printed for J. Stockdale, 1793.  f F2131 .E26 1793.  2v vols.

Panorama du Congo, Édité par Le Touring Club de Belgique . Bruxelles: Imprimerie scientifique Charles Bulens, 1912. ff DT646 P2 1912.  5 vols.

West African Year-Book.  West African Publishing Syndicate, 1901. DT470 .M85 1901

Robert Fortune.  A journey to the tea countries of China, including Sung-Lo and The Bohea Hills, with a short notice of the East India company's tea plantations in the Himalaya Mountains.  London: J. Murray, 1852.  915.1 F77

George M. Barker.  A tea planter's life in Assam.  Calcutta: Thacker, Spink & Co., 1884.  DS485 A84 B3 1884

 
   

Tea, Coffee, Sugar, Opium

The collections include numerous contemporary works on coffee, tea, sugar and opium, including cook books, pharmaceutical books, and works specifically on these commodities.  Examples include:

Thomas Short.  Discourses on tea (sugar, milk, made-wines, spirits, punch, tobacco, etc) with plain and useful rules for gouty people.  London: printed for T. Longman, 1750.

William Andrew Chatto.  A paper: Of tobacco: treating of the rise, progress, pleasures, and advantages of smoking.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1839.

Samuel Warren.  The Opium Question.  London: James Ridgway, 1840.  HV5816 .W35 1840

Charlotte Mason.  The lady's assistant for regulating and supplying the table.  London: J. Walter, 1801.  TX705 .M39  1801

Mrs. (Isabella Mary) Beeton.  The book of household management, also sanitary, medical, and legal memoranda.  London: S.O. Beeton, 1861.  TX717 .B4 1861

James Thacher. The American new dispensatory: containing general principles of pharmaceutic chemistry . . with an appendix, containing an account of mineral waters . . and the method of preparing opium.  Boston: T.B. Wait & Co., 1810.  RS1512 .T5 1810