2017, from The Organization of Umfundalai Teachers, edited by Kariamu Welsh and C. Kemal Nance. "Umfundalai Teachers' Handbook Umfundalai's progenitor, Kariamu Welsh, along with ateam of selected certified teachers and master teachers have developed this wonderful resource guide to assist African dance artists in sharing Umfundalai with new dance communities. The Iwe Illanan is a handbook that unpacks the scholarship that support Umfundalai's Pan-African movment system on a basic level."
West African Drumming and Dance in North American Universities
2014, by George Worlasi Kwasi Dor. "More than twenty universities and twenty other colleges in North America (USA and Canada) offer performance courses on West African ethnic dance drumming. Since its inception in 1964 at both UCLA and Columbia, West African drumming and dance has gradually developed into a vibrant campus subculture in North America. The dances most practiced in the American academy come from the ethnic groups Ewe, Akan, Ga, Dagbamba, Mande, and Wolof, thereby privileging dances mostly from Ghana, Togo, Benin, Senegal, Mali, Guinea, and Burkina Faso. This strong presence and practice of a world music ensemble in the diaspora has captured and engaged the interest of scholars, musicians, dancers, and audiences. In the first-ever ethnographic study of West African drumming and dance in North American universities, the author documents and acknowledges ethnomusicologists, ensemble directors, students, administrators, and academic institutions for their key roles in the histories of their respective ensembles. Dor collates and shares perspectives including debates on pedagogical approaches that may be instructive as models for both current and future ensemble directors and reveals the multiple impacts that participation in an ensemble or class offers students. He also examines the interplay among historically situated structures and systems, discourse, and practice, and explores the multiple meanings that individuals and various groups of people construct from this campus activity. The study will be of value to students, directors, and scholars as an ethnographic study and as a text for teaching relevant courses in African music, African studies, ethnomusicology/world music, African diaspora studies, and other related disciplines."
2011, by Modesto Amegago. "This book discusses African music and dance curriculum development and implementation procedures, including the criteria for selecting the African music and dance curriculum content, a curriculum framework, as well as aesthetics and criticism of Ewe-African music and dance. An African Music and Dance Curriculum Model will broaden readers¿ understanding of the theories of curriculum, arts education, creativity, creative processes, and music and dance; develop their analytical, appreciative, and evaluative skills relating to cross cultural performing arts/education, enable them to implement this curriculum model, develop new and alternative models, as well as inspire further creativity and research. The book will be useful for various artists, music and dance educators, and students at the university and college levels; philosophers, anthropologists, cultural theorists, social scientists and other interdisciplinary scholars, and researchers interested in the arts. An African Music and Dance Curriculum Model is organized into six main sections. The introduction reviews the literature on African music and dance, culture, and education. Section Two reviews the relevant theories on the curriculum, education, human nature, human development, family, society, epistemology and ethics, as well as creativity, creative processes, and ownership of African music and dance. Section Three examines the criteria for selecting African music and dance curriculum content, while Section Four provides a framework for the African music and dance curriculum. Section Five discusses the structural elements of the African music and dance curriculum. Finally, Section Six provides discussion of the ethical and aesthetic values, criticism of African music and dance and an African music and dance curriculum model and its implementation procedures."
African Dance: An artistic, historical, and philosophical inquiry
2010, 2nd edition, by Kariamu Welsh-Asante. "The ancient tradition of African dance has influenced dance styles all over the world. It is used to commemorate many annual ceremonies and activities, such as rites of passage and the harvest, and it is also an important form of recreation, religious expression, and storytelling. In African Dance, Second Edition, the varied cultures of Africa and their respective dances are explored, along with the effects that colonialism had on the art form."
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 1: Africa
2006- "Contains an overview of the geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study." Contains complete indexing for genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble, and cultural group, as well as links to the associated audio examples"
1996, photos by Michel Huet ; text by Claude Savary ; translated from the French Danses d'Afrique by Dorothy Blair. "Dance is the central theme of this remarkable book, which features one hundred sixty photographs taken by French photographer Michel Huet. Spanning a period of more than forty years, from 1945 to 1985, the photographs depict the dances and ceremonial rituals of fifty African tribes, among them the Yoruba, Tutsi, Dogon, Mbuti, and Masai - the result of Huet's extensive travels from Senegal to the Congo Basin, from the Ivory Coast to Rwanda, in his quest to record every aspect of African life. Each picture is a masterpiece, capturing the harmony of movement, the spontaneity, the gestures, the expressions, as well as the colors and details of the extraordinary costumes, and jewelry. The earlier black-and-white images, spectacularly reproduced in tritone, are set against the brilliant color of those taken during the '70s and '8Os: in some cases, Huet returned to the places he visited in the '40s and '5Os to photograph the same rituals and ceremonies. Accompanying this exceptional collection of images is a highly informative text by Claude Savary, Curator at the Museum of Ethnography in Geneva, Switzerland. In the introduction he outlines the political history of Africa over the past fifty years and presents an overview of the traditions that form the basis of African ritual life. His intriguing commentary on the photographs explains the various ceremonies pictured and gives a brief ethnographic description of each of the peoples covered in the book."
1985, edited by Molefi Kete Asante and Kariamu Welsh Asante. "Africa, according to the contributors to this anthology, is one cultural river with numerous tributaries articulated by their specific responses to history and the environment. They concentrate on the similarities in behavior, perceptions, and technologies of African culture that tie those tributaries together. The fourteen original essays by leading scholars of African studies are organized in four general divisions which consider the ethno-cultural motif, the artistic tradition, concepts of cultural value, and cultural continua."
Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
Part of the New York Public Library, this catalog lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. Offers citation information for an international range of dance periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.