Index offering access to academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present, including the following databases: Index to Film Periodicals; Treasures from Film Archives; Documentation Collections; and FIAF affiliates' publications
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Provides citations to journal articles, books, working papers, conference proceedings, bibliographies, and other materials. Areas covered include literature, language, linguistics, film, theatre and folklore. Covers 1926-present.
Cinema and media studies includes a plethora of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, etc. Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies offers short encyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies of the most important books, articles, and Web sites on each topic created by the finest scholars in cinema and media studies.
Provides detailed information on films from around the world, including production and cast information, plot summaries, background notes, awards listings, and citations to reviews and other secondary literature. Offers simultaneous searching of the American Film Institute Catalog, the British Film Institute's Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals. Covers 1893 - present.
The American Society of Cinematographers was founded in Hollywood in 1919 with the dual purpose of advancing the art and science of cinematography and bringing cinematographers together to exchange ideas, discuss techniques and promote the motion picture as an art form.
Cinema Journal is sponsored by the Society for Cinema and Media Studies and represents recent scholarship by SCMS members. The Society for Cinema and Media Studies, founded in 1959, is the largest professional organization of moving image media scholars. Its members include university faculty, graduate students, archivists, filmmakers, and others devoted to the study of the moving image from the U.S. and 39 other countries.
Film Quarterly has published substantial, peer-reviewed writing on cinema and media for nearly sixty years, earning a reputation as one of the most authoritative academic film journals in the United States, as well as an important English-language voice of cinema studies abroad.