Ballet Review is a quarterly, international, color publication which covers all aspects of dance. Ballet Review was founded in 1965 by Arlene Croce, along with associates David Vaughan, who still writes for the magazine, and Robert Cornfield, who served as the magazine's second editor. In 1970 the Dance Research Foundation, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization, was founded to publish Ballet Review and to engage in research related to dance and the other arts. Francis Mason, co-author of Balanchine’s Complete Stories of the Great Ballets and author of I Remember Balanchine, was editor from 1980 until his death in 2009. The magazine is currently edited and designed by Marvin Hoshino.
Dance Research Journal, a biannual publication of The Congress on Research in Dance (CORD), is oriented primarily toward historical and critical theory of dance. DRJ features articles, book reviews, research, and dialogues which span disciplines including anthropology, education, pedagogy, gender and sexuality, criticism, intercultural studies, and somatics. The journal also reports on scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field. DRJ encourages interdisciplinary approaches to dance and welcomes scholars in dance studies and related fields. Contributions for publication consideration are open to members and nonmembers of CORD and will be accepted at any time.
Dance Research, the Journal of the Society for Dance Research, is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. Dance Research is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of editorial consultants based in Europe and the USA. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research and contains a section of comprehensive book and journal reviews.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.