This site provides lesson plans for most subject areas and includes links to other informational sources that can be drawn upon to create original lesson plans. Includes a focus on multicultural holidays and events.
The Lesson Plans Library site contains lessons for grades K-12 in common and not so common subjects. Plans range in subject from literature and math to forensic science and meteorology. Written by teachers and educators for teachers, these lesson plans are both comprehensive and easy to follow. Most plans define what national academic standards the lesson plans meet.
The Library of Congress has teacher-created, classroom-tested lesson plans on United States social studies, geography, science, sports and recreation, journalism, and literature, among other subjects. All of the lesson plans use primary sources that can be found at the Library of Congress and are provided with each lesson plan. Lesson plans can be searched by topic or by era.
Share My Lesson was developed by the American Federation of Teachers and TES Connect, an online network of educators, and provides a space for teachers to share lesson plans and teaching resources. The Common Core State Standards Information Center contains more than 700 lesson plans aligned to the Standards by specially-trained teachers.
ReadWriteThink is a website focused on literacy for K-12 students. It provides detailed, research-based lesson plans that can be searched by grade level as well as area of literacy practice. The site also includes a wide variety of web resources, including instructional, reference, professional development, and interactive student resources.
The Office for Mathematics, Science, and Technology Education (MSTE) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has developed a number of interactive resources for aiding K-12 students in their math and science education.
This site uses U.S. coins to teach basic math and counting. By exploring the "Additional Materials" section, teachers are able to find several ideas for teaching social studies, language arts, and science using coin-related topics. Each lesson plan has been contributed by teachers and includes grade level and national standards information.
The STEM resource finder on the Consortium’s site provides free, open source educational activities, software, and models for teaching STEM subjects to elementary school through college students. The resources are keyword-searchable and allow users to browse by subject and grade level. Also includes a tool to find activities and models that adhere to the Next Generation Science Standards.
Provides environmental games appropriate for children in grades 4-6 such as game shows, crossword puzzles, word searches and matching endangered species. Also contains teacher resources and lesson plans on the environment and science.
This website provides a range of lesson plans based on geography, geology, astronomy, and other earth sciences using maps, satellite images, and other projections. Also provides links to current topics in the earth sciences.
This extensive historical website provides resources for teachers who want to make learning about history interesting and exciting. Key features include an interactive timeline, online textbook, and history reference room. There are also resource guides, lesson plans, and classroom handouts.
This website, maintained by the United States Federal Reserve, contains numerous K-12 and college lesson plans and publications on subjects such as banking, economics, government, money, and personal finance. Resources can be searched by grade level, topic, and type of resource. There is a Classroom Resources tab under which educators can find lesson plans, publications, activities, tours and programs, and academic competitions. Additionally, students can find games, fun facts, competitions, and quizzes under the Public Resources tab.
Provides activities and over 3,000 primary source documents from the United States National Archives for use in the classroom. Users can find digitized primary source written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio, and video that span the course of American history.
The National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) supports elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, geography, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and law. Their website includes K-12 lesson plans, as well as links to a host of additional resources.
Based on items at the National Museum of American History, this website brings the museum's "collections and research into your classroom." In addition to the tour guides, there are plenty of lesson plans and classroom curriculum suggestions.