A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
2011, " Shows the evolution and different Flamenco dances.
"Considerada el máximo exponente de la particular forma de hacer cine musical de Carlos Saura, Flamenco, flamenco plantea, a través de la luz y de un viaje vital, la evolución de los cantes, bailes y música de este arte que, según palabras del propio director, tendría que ser patrimonio del Universo. Con la experiencia y la sabiduría que el paso del tiempo ha ido impregnando en la cinematografía de Carlos Saura, nos adentramos en los caminos de los actuales talentos de este arte tan vivo y dinámico que es el flamenco, para presentar su nueva película que utiliza elementos novedosos, tanto en el terreno técnico, como en el narrativo, convirtiéndose en una producción única. La película refleja que existe un poderosísmo flamenco nuevo, de jóvenes talentos que buscan su camino tanto en nuestro país, como más allá de nuestras fronteras, aunque la realidad de este arte no puede reflejarse en su justa forma sin algunos de los grandes maestros vivos que tenemos la fortuna de poseer en España."
2005, "Follow the unusual life of Omayra Amaya, a flamenco dancer in Boston. Included is film footage of Amaya's great aunt, the legendary flamenco dancer Carmen Amaya, as well as rare archival footage of Gypsies flamenco dancing in Spain."
2005, "Some of the greatest performances from flamenco artists are brought together in this DVD. These performances thrilled audiences in the mid 1960's and include master dancers, guitarists and singers."
1992, "In Andalusia and all around the world, the sensual rhythms of flamenco ignite the blood with joy and sorrow. This program helps make accessible the mysterious, intimate, plaintive form of music known as flamenco, promoting a deeper appreciation of Spanish culture. Background information on Moorish Spain and a chronology of Gypsy history provide the context for generous footage of a juerga—an informal flamenco performance—that includes a full complement of dancers, singers, guitarists, and palmeros. An RTVE Production. (Spanish, 60 minutes)"
1986, "A magnificent panorama of Flamenco and its performers, for whom the rhythms and lyrics are inherited folklore and part of daily life—but the techniques are studied. There are, in fact, four distinct schools of Flamenco in Spain, filmed here away from tourists in the places where the artists perform for their own. (No narration, 56 minutes)"
1983, "This Oscar®-winning film is a visual and emotional thriller. It is an impressionistic record of a flamenco dance class given to senior students of the National Ballet School of Canada by two great teachers from Spain, Susana Robledo and her longtime accompanist husband, Antonio Robledo. These dedicated teachers come to school every winter to conduct classes held after the day’s regular schedule has ended. As trained dancers, the students pick up most of the steps easily, but Susana notices that many are apprehensive and scared since flamenco dance requires them to evoke different emotions entirely. This classic documentary film shows the beautiful young North American dancers—inspired by the flamenco rhythms and mesmerized by Susana's extraordinary energy—joyously merging with an ancient Gypsy culture. (29 minutes)"
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage in all academic areas. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Streaming videos of important opera performances, captured through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. BRYN MAWR has the majority but not all videos in this collection.
More than 450 Metropolitan Opera performances streamed online. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936