Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
Part of the New York Public Library, this catalog lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. Offers citation information for an international range of dance periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.
2010, edited by "Dennis Kennedy". "The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, buildings, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, anddesigners. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia. The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing threatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work. It has 2,400 entries presented in a far more compact and portableformat. The timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theatre and performance has been significantly updated, along with the extensive bibliography, and an appendix of useful weblinks has been added, which is supported and accessible through a companion website.The Companion provides an informative and accessible package aimed at both the theatre-going public as at specialists and professionals in the field."
1998, edited by Selma Cohen. "Since the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations. Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection."
Europe 1450-1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world by Jonathan Dewald
2004. Online subject encyclopedia for early modern Europe which provides historical background for specific topics as well as broader issues. The bibliographies at the ends of articles are good places to find more information.
Covers all topics related to music, including musical instruments, compositional forms and scientific topics. Biographical entries cover composers, performers and writers. Offers links to related sites including sound archives.
"Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers"
"Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included."
Music, Dance, and Drama in Early Modern English Schools by Amanda Eubanks Winkler
2020. "Music, Dance, and Drama in Early Modern English Schools is the first book to systematically analyze the role that the performing arts played in English schools after the Reformation. Although the material record is riddled with gaps, Amanda Eubanks Winkler sheds light on the subject through an innovative methodology that combines rigorous archival research with phenomenological and performance studies approaches. She organizes her study around a series of performance-based questions that demonstrate how the schoolroom intersected with the church, the court, the domicile, the concert room, and the professional theater, which allows her to provide fresh perspectives on well-known canonical operas performed by children, as well as lesser-known works. Eubanks Winkler also interrogates the notion that performance is ephemeral, as she considers how scores and play texts serve as a conduit between past and present, and demonstrates the ways in which pedagogical performance is passed down through embodied praxis."
2014 "During the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, France became notorious across Europe for its ambitious attempts to codify and theorise a system of universally valid 'rules' for successful theatre. Inventing the Spectator reads the period's dramatic theory against the grain, exploring not plays or playwrights but rather the spectator: the living, breathing individual in whose mind, senses, and experience the theatre comes to life. Bridging the gap betweenliterary and theatre studies, history of psychology, and intellectual history, Inventing the Spectator reconstructs the theatre spectator's experience as it was understood in France between the Renaissanceand the Revolution. As well as offering in-depth discussions of key dramatic theoreticians (d'Aubignac, Corneille, Dubos, Rousseau, and Diderot), this study raises numerous questions - of imagination and illusion, reason and emotion, pleasure and narrative, vision and hearing, interest and identification - that strike at the very heart of human psychology, cognition, and experience."
Mime, Music and Drama on the Eighteenth-Century Stage by Edward Nye
2011 "The 'ballet d'action' was one of the most successful and controversial forms of theatre in the early modern period. A curious hybrid of dance, mime and music, its overall and overriding intention was to create drama. It was danced drama rather than dramatic dance, musical drama rather than dramatic music. Most modern critical studies of the ballet d'action treat it more narrowly as stage dance and very few view it as part of the history of mime. Little use has previously been made of the most revealing musical evidence. This innovative book does justice to the distinctive hybrid nature of the ballet d'action by taking a comparative approach, using contemporary literature and literary criticism, music, mime and dance from a wide range of English and European sources. Edward Nye presents a fascinating study of this important and influential part of eighteenth-century European theatre."
Dance, Spectacle, and the Body Politick, 1250-1750 by Jennifer Nevile (Editor)