Skip to main content

HIST 102: Introduction to African Civilizations (BMC)

HIST 102: Introduction to African Civilizations (Ngalamulume). Fall 2015

Bryn Mawr's Special Collections

Bryn Mawr has an extensive collection of works on Africa from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, including memoirs, travel accounts, colonial guides, government reports, magazines, and brochures  Overviews of our holdings and guides to particular collections can be found on the Special Collections web site.

The book collections are included in Tripod.  It is possible to limit your search to just the Special Collections holdings by choosing “Bryn Mawr Special Collections” from the Tripod menu box that normally reads “View Entire Collection.”

Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday, open until 8:00 pm on Wednesdays.   An appointment is a good idea for your initial visit to talk about resources for your project. 

University of Pennsylvania Library

Bryn Mawr has an extensive collection of works on Africa from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, including memoirs, travel accounts, colonial guides, government reports, magazines, and brochures  Overviews of our holdings and guides to particular collections can be found on the Special Collections web site.

The book collections are included in Tripod.  It is possible to limit your search to just the Special Collections holdings by choosing “Bryn Mawr Special Collections” from the Tripod menu box that normally reads “View Entire Collection.”

Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday, open until 8:00 pm on Wednesdays.   An appointment is a good idea for your initial visit to talk about resources for your project. 

Ashanti War Texts

The following books are all available in Bryn Mawr's Special Collections Department.

Beaton, A. C. The Ashantees : their country, history, wars, government, customs, climate, religion and present position : with a description of the neighbouring territories.       London : James Blackwood and Co., [1874?].   171 pages.   Part of "Blackwood's London Library," advertised as "suitable for Railway Reading."   DT507 .B37 1874.  

Boyle, Frederick, Through Fanteeland to Coomassie: a diary of the Ashantee expedition. London : Chapman and Hall, 1874.   411 pages.  Boyle was Special Correspondent for the Daily Telegraph.   DT507 .B78 1874 

Brackenbury, Henry, Sir.  The Ashanti war; a narrative prepared from the official documents by permission of Major-General Sir Garnet Wolseley. Edinburgh, London, W. Blackwood and Sons, 1874.  2 vols. Brackenbury was Assistant Military Secretary to Major General Wolseley, and wrote this book based on the official records provided by Wolseley.   DT507 .B79 1874

Brackenbury, Henry, Fanti and Ashanti: three papers read on board the S.S. Ambriz on the voyage to the Gold Coast,. by Capt. H. Brackenbury and Capt. G.L. Huyshe.  Edinburgh London : W. Blackwood and Sons, MDCCCLXXIII [1873]. 131 pages. Papers on the background of the Ashanti War, read to the officers in Wolseley's army during the voyage to Africa.  DT511 .B7 1873

Butler, William France, Sir. Akim-foo : the history of a failure   2nd ed. London : Sampson Low, Marston, Low, and Searle, 1875.  300 pages.  Major Butler was an officer in the British Army during the Ashanti War, and led one of the divisions.  DT507 .B8 1875.

Great Britain. Parliament. Further correspondence respecting the Ashantee invasion :  presented to both houses of Parliament by command of Her Majesty, March 1874.    London : Printed by W. Clowes & Sons for H.M.S.O., 1874. 9 volumes.  f DT507 .G7 1874

Gros, Jules, Voyages, aventures et captivité de J. Bonnat chez les achantis      Paris, Plon, Nourrit, 1884.  278 pages.  Biography of Marie-Jean Bonnat, a French merchant held captive by the Ashantis along with Ramseyer and Kuhne.  DT510.2. G8 1884.  

Hay, John Charles Dalrymple, Sir,  Ashanti and the Gold Coast : and what we know of it : a sketch  London : Stanford, 1874. 82 pages. Overview of the background to the war, written by a Vice-Adminral in the British Navy.  DT507 .H35 1874 

Henty, G. A. (George Alfred).  The march to Coomassie,   London, Tinsley Bros., 1874. 470 pages.  Henty was Special Correspondent for The Standard.   PR4785.H55 M35 1874

Illustrated London News. Volume for January – June 1874.  (The complete Illustrated London News  is available online).    ff AP 4.I4

Ramseyer, Fritz. Four years in Ashantee / by the missionaries Ramseyer and Kühne;     2nd ed.   London : J. Nisbet, 1878. 320 pages.   BV3625.A7 R3 1878.

Snape, Thomas.  The Ashantee War: Its Causes and Effects.  Published by John Heywood, London, 1874. 47 pages. Snape was active in the Liverpool Peace Society.   DT507.S63 1874

Stanley, Henry M. (Henry Morton).  Coomassie and Magdala: the story of two British campaigns in Africa.   New York, Harper & Bros., 1874. 510 pages.  Stanley was a journalist working with newspapers in New York and London.  His book includes illustrations of actions in the war done for the Illustrated London News.  DT32.5 .S7 1874. 

Thomas, Joseph Hammond.   A full and authentic diary of the Ashanti expedition.   Pembroke, W. Emblow, 1875. 24 pages.  Thomas was a soldier in the 2nd Battalion, Rifle Brigade.   DT507 .T4 1875