Database of primary sources focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women during the 19th-20th centuries.
• Topics include: women's suffrage, reproductive rights, labor activism, pacifism, socialism, mental health, temperance
• Source types include: records of activist organizations, periodicals (e.g. magazines, newsletters), manuscripts, images, personal papers of individual women
• Time period: 19th-20th century
• Regions: Emphasizes United States and England. Also includes materials from Canada, Australia, and some other countries (mostly European).
"Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. This digital archive offers 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century."
Provides access to "nearly a million collection descriptions" from "thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact [information from] archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies."
The collections of the 36 PACSCL member libraries include a total of more than 4,000,000 rare books, 260,000 linear feet of manuscripts and archival materials, and 9,000,000 photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and works of art on paper. PACSCL member libraries hold rich collections of materials on national, regional, and local history; the natural and social sciences; world history, literature and religion; art and architecture; and business and industry.
The Bryn Mawr College Special Collections, 2nd floor of Canaday, has an especially strong collection of manuscript and published materials related to women's rights and women's suffrage from the 18th century to the present.
The Swarthmore College Peace Collection, located in McCabe Library, has extensive holdings of manuscripts and archives from individuals and organizations active in the peace movement, nonviolence, and refugee relief since the late 19th century.
The Friends Historical Library, located in McCabe Library, contains extensive holdings on the Society of Friends from the 17th century to the present, including much on anti-slavery, peace, and non-violence.