Research Guides: ECON 331: Human Capital Accumulation and Development (BMC): Scholarly Articles

Economics of Education Journals

Other Economics Journals

These are more general economics journals but will have some content on education economics and policy.

Multidisciplinary Databases & Academic Search Engines

These citation databases and search aggregators will have journal content relevant to the economics of education policy.

EconLit
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present. From the "All Databases" search screen, use the "Databases" link to select all relevant PQ collections and do a combined search. Look especially for: EconLit, ERIC, ProQuest Education, ProQuest Research Library, and ProQuest Social Science.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Provides abstracts to journal articles and ERIC Digest records on all aspects of education. Many digest records are in full-text. Covers 1966-present. From the "All Databases" search screen, use the "Databases" link to select all relevant PQ collections and do a combined search. Look especially for: EconLit, ERIC, ProQuest Education, ProQuest Research Library, and ProQuest Social Science.

Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
JSTOR
Access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in most academic disciplines. For journals, coverage is from first issue through three to five years ago.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.
ProQuest Education Database
Covers lower and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and other related topics. Indexes 1,020 publications, including more than 640 full text titles. 1991-present. From the "All Databases" search screen, use the "Databases" link to select all relevant PQ collections and do a combined search. Look especially for: EconLit, ERIC, ProQuest Education, ProQuest Research Library, and ProQuest Social Science.
ProQuest Social Science Database
This database, formerly known as "ProQuest Social Science Journals" provides citations and abstracts to articles from about 450 social sciences periodicals. Full-text/images are available for over 200 of the periodicals indexed. Coverage from 1994 to present.
ScienceDirect
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.