Skip to main content

RELG 221: Women in Early Christianity (HC)

Religion 221: Women and Gender in Early Christianity (McGuire) Fall 2015

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles provide in depth scholarly information.  They are vetted and improved by peer review.  They are usually fairly short in length and focused on discussing one specific issue.  The following indexes are good places to find journal articles about religion. Start with Tripod

Use the Find It button           in these indexes to find out if the journal articles are available in the Tri-College libraries. If the journal is not listed in Tripod, use the Find It request form or the Interlibrary Loan Request Form on Tripod to have a copy of the article sent to you from another library.

Discipline-Specific Indexes

These indexes are particularly good for accessing the scholarly literature of a particular discipline, i.e., articles written by religion scholars, historians, anthropologists, or other .kinds of researchers.

General Indexes

Examples of Journal Articles

These articles found in ATLA Religion Database demonstrate a range of topics around the issue of women and gender and early Christianity.

 

"Recovering Women's History: early Christianity."  By Rosemary Rader. Horizons Vol. 11, Issue 1 (1984): 113-124.

Abstract: [The author] limits [her] observations and suggestions to the following: 1) the basic outline and suggested readings for the course, 'Women in the Christian tradition,' and 2) the ways in which [she] incorporates feminist issues into two basic courses on the history of Christianity ('Introduction to Christianity' and 'Formation of Christian traditions'). [She] discusses the basic issues studied in the courses and lists most bibliographical sources at the end of the article.

Full text

 

"Holy Women, Holy Words: Early Christian Women, Social History, and the 'Linguistic Turn' By Elizabeth A. Clark.   Journal of Early Christian Studies Vol. 6, Issue 3 (1998): 413-430.

Full text

 

"Feminist Reconstruction of Early Christian History"  Edited by Halvor Moxnes.  Studia Theologica  Vol. 43, Issue 1 (1989): 1-163. 

This is a very long article but it includes a table of contents. Introduction: feminist reconstruction of early Christian history, by H Moxnes. Biblical interpretation and critical commitment, by E S Fiorenza. Text and reality--reality as text: the problem of a feminist historical and social reconstruction based on texts, by E S Fiorenza. Text as reality--reality as text, by T Borchgrevink, and M Melhuus. Women, symbolic universe and structures of silence: challenges and possibilities in androcentric texts, by L Fatum. The female metaphor: the definition of male and female: an unsolved problem?, by K F Plum. The definition of 'male' and 'female': an unsolved problem, by V Songe-Møller. Social integration and the problem of gender in St Paul's letters, by H Moxnes. Women and status in the Greco-Roman world, by H Montgomery. Ascetic autonomy? New perspectives on single women in the early church, by T K Seim. Women and mission in the New Testament: some remarks on the perspective of audience, a research report, by L Portefaix. Recent literature: development and perspectives in New Testament research on women, by I M Lindboe.

Full text