Research Guides: RELG 398: Senior Thesis Seminar (HC): Encyclopedias and Handbooks

More Important Resources

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society by William H. Swatos (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0761989560
Publication Date: 1998-02-05
Reference work on the connections between religion and society.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by Erwin Fahlbusch (Editor); Geoffrey W. Bromiley (Editor); David B. Barrett (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0802824137
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is in Five volumes and is translated from the original German. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino (General Editor); Thomas C. Oden (Consultant Editor); Joel C. Elowsky (Consultant Editor); James Hoover (Consultant Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780830829439
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists
Encyclopaedia Islamica
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Islamica is a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.

Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is automatically updated whenever a new volume has been published. New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. The project started with the letter A in 2008 and is expected to be completed in 2023.

Handbooks

Sometimes Handbooks are a good place to start for finding sources and subjects of interest. The following list is not exhaustive, but should give you some idea of the types of handbooks on religion we have at Haverford.

A Handbook of Ancient Religions by John R. Hinnells (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521847124
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Ancient civilisations exercise an intense fascination for people the world over. This Handbook provides a vivid, scholarly, and eminently readable account of ancient cultures around the world, from China to India, the Middle East, Egypt, Europe, and the Americas. It examines the development of religious belief from the time of the Palaeolithic cave paintings to the Aztecs and Incas. Covering the whole of society not just the elite, the Handbook outlines the history of the different societies so that their religion and culture can be understood in context. Each chapter includes discussion of the broad field of relevant studies alerting the reader to wider debates on each subject. An international team of scholars convey their own deep enthusiasm for their subject and provide a unique study of both popular and 'official' religion in the ancient world.
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0195137981
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
This is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites.
A New Handbook of Living Religions by John R. Hinnells (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0631182756
Publication Date: 1997-01-31
Written by a team of leading international scholars in a clear and readable style, this New Handbook of Living Religions provides a general introduction to the sources and history of the major religions, and an overview of its teachings, practices, popular traditions and twentieth century developments. This new edition not only updates existing chapters but also includes a whole new section on cross-cultural issues and modern diaspora religions in the West.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Science by Philip Clayton (Editor); Zachary Simpson
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0199279276
Publication Date: 2006-12-28
The field of science & religion is exploding in popularity among academics & the reading public. Written by leading experts, this book presents an introduction to the debate. Offering a treatment of questions of methodology & implications for life & practice, it also includes sections devoted to the major scientific disciplines.