GERM 320: Impossible Representations (HC) Spring 2015

Examines the history of how the Holocaust is presented in film, including documentaries, feature films, and television productions. It contains a chronology of events needed to give the films and their reception a historical context, an introductory essay, a bibliography, a filmography of more than 600 titles, and over 100 cross-referenced dictionary entries on films, directors, and historical figures.

An historical survey of holocaust literature in all genres and regions from WWII to the present.

Features 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama. Includes writers whose works first appeared in Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, and Yiddish.

Offers a representative historical overview through bio-filmographical entries on the main protagonists, from the beginnings to the present day. Included are directors and actors, writers and cameramen, composers and production designers, film theorists and critics, producers and distributors, inventors and manufacturers. An appendix includes short introductory essays on specific periods and movements, such as Early Film, Weimar, Nazi Cinema, DEFA, New German Cinema, and German film since unification, as well as on cinematic developments in Austria and Switzerland.

A comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically. With numerous student and professional examples, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film can become more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.

Emphasizes writing as a process and incorporates new critical approaches to writing about literature.

The 10th edition of Bordwell and Thompson's key introduction to the art of film.

Older editions also available.

The study of film theory has changed dramatically over the past 30 years with innovative ways of looking at classic debates in areas like film form, genre, and authorship, as well as exciting new conversations on such topics as race, gender and sexuality, and new media. Until now, no film theory anthology has stepped forward to represent this broader, more inclusive perspective. Critical Visions also provides the best guidance for students, giving them the context and the tools they need to critically engage with theory and apply it to their film experiences.

First published in 1969, Signs and Meaning in the Cinema transformed the emerging discipline of film studies. The book is divided into three main sections. The first explores the work of Sergei Eisenstein as film-maker, designer and aesthetician. The second, which contains a celebrated comparison of the films of John Ford and Howard Hawks, is an expositionand defence of the auteur theory. The third formulates a semiology of the cinema, invoking cinema as an exemplary test-case for comparative aesthetics and general theories of signification. Older editions also available.

Provides accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms. Now fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, the book includes new topical entries such as: CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digital cinema/Post-digital cinema Dogme 95* Movement-image/Time-image Quota quickies 3-D technology

Older editions also available.