The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. This is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. For many states, the BRFSS is the only available source of timely, accurate data on health-related behaviors.
The Community Health Data Base, produced by Public Health Management Corporation, collects primary data through its biannual Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey and provides access to a number of secondary data sets. The Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey includes data about health status, personal health behaviors, and access to and utilization of area health services, at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level. See our Using the Community Health Data Base for more information.
Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics and is linked to both the Kaiser Family Foundation website and Kaiser Health News.
OECD iLibrary contains limited statistics and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF)
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.
An important report is the World Health Report, published annually. You can find the core health indicators for countries here.
A one-stop data source for health, nutrition and population indicators from various national and international data sources. It provides direct access to more than 100 indicators, with time series for countries and country groups from 1960 to the most recent year, where data are available.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.
Comprehensive portal to find environmental information from general information to something specific to your location. For example, are there any superfund site around you? What kind of facilities are releasing substances regulated by the EPA?
The Kaiser Family Foundation polling archive holds more than 85,000 questions on health issues and the health care system. Includes a Question Finder. Downloads include reports, charts, and methodology files. The Kaiser Health Tracking Poll is their signature survey project.
Consumer-friendly starting point for potential health effects of chemicals contained in common products used inside and around the home. Search by product type (e.g. pesticide), brand name, manufacturer, ingredients and get linked to more technical information.
The National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (Tracking Network) is a system of integrated health, exposure, and hazard information and data from a variety of national, state, and city sources.
TEHIP maintains a comprehensive toxicology and environmental health web site that includes access to resources produced by TEHIP and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources
Other Data Sources
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
Provides access to an archive of online social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis. Provides a comprehensive list of ICPSR resources and services, information on membership and governance, links to national data archives affiliated with ICPSR, and contact information.