Research Guides: HIST 257: Inventing Modern Science (HC): Background Information

Alchemist's Laboratory

Engraving from the book Amphitheatrum sapientiae aeternae written by Heinrich Khunrath.

Hamburg, 1595 (Source: Wikimedia Commons, public domain)

Encyclopedias and Handbooks on the History of Science

The following sources provide overviews of ideas, people, and events in early modern history. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Cambridge Companion to Newton
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents a collection of essays, written by scholars in the field, surveying the major issues involved in Newton's thought. It serves as an excellent means of exploring research possibilities.
See also volumes on Galileo and on Science and Religion.
Cambridge History of Science. Volume 2 Medieval Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This volume s devoted to the history of science in the Middle Ages from the North Atlantic to the Indus Valley. Medieval science was once universally dismissed as non-existent – and sometimes it still is. This volume reveals the diversity of goals, contexts, and accomplishments in the study of nature during the Middle Ages.
Cambridge History of Science. Volume 3 Early Modern Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This volume is a comprehensive account of knowledge of the natural world in Europe, ca. 1500-1700. The period saw major transformations in fields as diverse as anatomy and astronomy, natural history and mathematics. Articles by leading specialists describe in clear, accessible prose supplemented by extensive bibliographies, how new ideas, discoveries, and institutions shaped the ways in which nature came to be studied, understood, and used.
Companion to the History of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a single-volume overview of current scholarship in the history of science edited by one of the leading figures in the field. Features forty essays by experts which reflect new approaches . Essays include "The Natural Philosopher", The Observatory" and "The Printing Press" as important factors.
Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In this subject encyclopedia over 180 scholars have written articles on 16th and 17th century European science. Topics of interest include patronage, scientific societies, education, political theory, and biographies of scientists. Brief bibliographies accompany each article.
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The entries in this work are written by a large group of scholarly experts who have drawn heavily on primary sources.
Medieval science, technology, and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This new subject encyclopedia includes articles on topics as well as important figures. Bibliographies at the ends of articles are often extensive. Note the cross references that refer to related articles for additional information.
Science and its times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This set addresses the varied social impacts of science, medicine, and technology. Volume Two focuses on the Middle Ages and Volume Three covers 1450-1699. Both volumes are divided into broad science categories with relevant biographical sketches for each section.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks for History

Ashgate Research Companion to the Counter-Reformation
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
presents a comprehensive examination of recent scholarship on early modern Catholicism in its many guises. Examines how the Tridentine reforms inspired conflict and conversion, and evaluates lives and identities, spirituality, culture and religious change. Note in particular the essay, "Science and the Counter-Reformation."
Encyclopedia of Tudor England
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features brief articles on individuals , events, and history of the Tudor period.
Europe 1450 to 1789
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online subject encyclopedia for early modern Europe with an emphasis on cultural history. The bibliographies at the ends of articles are good places to find more information.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Entries include bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.

Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This two-volume set analyzes a broad range of topics and offers select lits of authoritative sources. Essays of special interest include:
"Printing and Printedness" and "A Revolution in Information?" Vol. 1
"The Scientific Revolution" Vol. 2

Subject Guide

Margaret Schaus

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program

Web Resources

The Galileo Project
Rice University sponsors this site which provides a variety of materials about Galileo and the science of his time.
The Newton Project
See the tab "About Newton" for biographical and historical sources including detailed information about Newton's library.
Scientific Revolution: Historical Resources
This site is maintained by the History Teaching Institute at Ohio State University as a resource for educators in secondary and primary schools.
Starry Messenger
This website provides multiple pages dealing with the medieval and early modern history of astronomy. See the section devoted to scientists including Copernicus, Brahe, Galileo and Kepler.
Tycho Brahe Museum
Website of the Danish museum which is built on the site of Brahe's house and observatory.
Trial of Galileo
Features primary accounts in English translation. Part of a larger website on trial history created by Professor Douglas Linder, the University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law.