Skip to main content

HIST 221: Slavery, Agency and Ideologies (HC)

History 221: Slavery, Agency and Ideologies (Laurent-Perrault) Spring 2015

Identifying Relevant Books

Use the Tripod Books and More catalog to look for relevant titles owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Catalog to find relevant materials and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

("slave trade" OR slavery OR slaves) africa* ("latin america*" OR caribbean OR americas)  [Keyword Search]

slave* (medicine OR health*)   [Subject Search - Sorted by newest books first]

blacks latin america history  [Subject Search]

 

Tripod - For locating books, journals, and other materials held in the Tri-College libraries. Deliveries within the Trico usually arrive in one or two days. Use the "Request" button

Worldcat - An important place to look for materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these titles are available to you through interlibrary loan..

EZ Borrow and Interlibrary LoanRequest items that are not available in Tripod on this page. Note that E-Z Borrow provides books in 3 to 5 days.  For books not in E-Z Borrow, request though Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Again materials may arrive in as little as 3 days.   For journal articles not in Tripod, request through Article Delivery.  They will be sent to you by email.

Dissertations

Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can obtain many of these dissertations full text in the database below. Take advantage of the detailed bibliographies and new ideas. Check  Dissertations & Theses to identify titles on your topic.

  • Dissertations & Theses  Icon  Icon  Icon
     Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.