Research Guides: HLTH 218: Experiencing and Responding to Illness and Disability: 1793-1930 (HC) [Spring 2015]: Epidemics

Yellow Fever in Philadelphia

An account of the rise, progress, and termination, of the malignant fever, lately prevalent in Philadelphia: Briefly stated from authentic documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 1793 and ex libris John Pemberton.
A discourse delivered on the 26th of November, 1795...
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This speech was delivered by William Linn.
more...less...
Full title: A discourse delivered on the 26th of November, 1795: being the day recommended by the governor of the state of New-York to be observed as a day of thanksgiving and prayer, on account of the removal of an epidemic fever, and for other national blessings
The Female Society of Philadelphia for the relief and employment of the poor
The Female Society of Philadelphia for the relief and employment of the poor was originally founded to assist widows from the yellow fever epidemic.
The last confession and dying speech of Peter Porcupine: with an account of his dissection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Written principally as a political critique of William Cobbett, this book also contains a short history of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 in Philadelphia.
Letter from a yellow fever victim, Philadelphia, 1793
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Signed by Isaac Heston on September 19, 1793, this letter was published in the Pennsylvania magazine of history and biography in April 1963 by Edwin B. Bronner.
Meditations written during the prevalence of the yellow fever in the city of Philadelphia, in the year 1793.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work was written by Joshua Cresson and published in 1803.
A narrative of the proceedings of the black people: during the late awful calamity in Philadelphia, in the year 1793: and a refutation of some censures, thrown upon them in some late publications
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Written by Absalom Jones and Richard Allen to Matthew Carkson as a short address regarding the treatment and recognition of slaves who either were afflicted by yellow fever or assisted in treating those who did, this work was published in 1794.
Occasional essays on the yellow fever.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This compilation of essays was a work by the Philadelphian and was published in 1800 by J. Ormrod.
Robert B. Haines III collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains various correspondence of Reuben Haines and Caspar Wistar Haines. Caspar Wistar Haines' correspondence with Rebecca Jones gives an account of yellow fever in Philadelphia.
Robinson Family papers
This collections contains primarily correspondence of Mary Robinson Morton with various family members regarding numerous topics, including the effects of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 that continued into 1798.
A short account of the malignant fever: lately prevalent in Philadelphia...
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This account was written by Matthew Carey in 1794 and includes a statistical list of burials and a log of the names of those who died during the epidemic.
more...less...
Full title: A short account of the malignant fever: lately prevalent in Philadelphia; with a statement of the proceedings that took place on the subject, in different parts of the United States. To which are added, Accounts of the plague in London and Marseilles, and a list of the dead, from August 1, to the middle of December, 1793
Short history of the yellow fever, that broke out in the city of Philadelphia, in July 1797: with a list of the dead; of the donations for the relief of the poor, and a variety of other interesting particulars
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Written by Richard Folwell in 1797.
A treatise on the synochus icteroides, or yellow fever: as it lately appeared in the city of Philadelphia...
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This treatise by William Currie was published 1794 and details the spread, symptoms, treatment, and prevention of yellow fever in Philadelphia based on reports by the College of Physicians.
more...less...
Full title:A treatise on the synochus icteroides, or yellow fever: as it lately appeared in the city of Philadelphia; exhibiting a concise view of its rise, progress and symptoms, together with the method of treatment found most successful; also remarks on the nature of its contagion, and directions for preventing the introduction of the same malady, in future

Other Disease Outbreaks

An account of the scarlet fever and sore throat, or scarlatina anginosa...
This work details the spread and effects of a scarlet fever outbreak in Birmingham in 1778.
more...less...
Full title: An account of the scarlet fever and sore throat, or scarlatina anginosa: particularly as it appeared at Birmingham in the year 1778. By William Withering, M.D.
Articles and addresses by William Warder Cadbury.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part II, medical and scientific papers. Section A. This work by William Warder Cadbury gives various accounts of epidemics in China.
William W. Cadbury and Catharine J. Cadbury papers
This collection contains primarily correspondence, including several sets of letters regarding fear of the spread of the plague throughout Philadelphia in the early 1900s.
A collection of very valuable and scarce pieces relating to the last plague in the year 1665
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work was published in 1721 and refers to one of the last outbreaks of the plague in London, England.
Cope-Collins-Morris Family papers, 1825-1880
These papers include correspondence from William Collins to Eliza that discuss various different topics, including the cholera epidemic in Philadelphia.
A dissertation of the small pox.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book was written in 1702 by Daniel Phillips regarding the small pox epidemic.
Hartshorne Family papers
This collection consists primarily of correspondence, including that related to the medical practices of several members of the Hartshorne family. The correspondence of Joseph Hartshorne includes several letters related to the treatment of cholera, as well as other prominent diseases of the mid-19th century.
Hoskins-Warder Scrapbook of letters and documents, 1729-1863
This scrapbook contains correspondence between members of the Hoskins family, and includes several letters concerning victims of small pox.
Philadelphia Quaker Families papers
This collection includes extensive histories and documents regarding prominent Philadelphia Quaker families. The letters of Cresson family members, namely those of Susan Vaux Cresson discuss the rise of scarlet fever and small pox as well as other health issues.
Remèdes contre la peste: fac-similés, notes et liste bibliographieque des incunables sur la peste
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translation of title: "Remedies against the plague: facsimiles, notes, and bibliographic list of Incunabula on the plague." Written by Carl Arnold Klebs in 1925 discussing remedies presented in early printed works on the plague.
Report on the epidemic small pox and chicken pox, which prevailed in New-York during the last autumn and winter
This was a report released by the Medical Society of the County of New York regarding the failure of vaccinations to prevent outbreaks of chicken pox and small pox in New York City.
more...less...
Full title: Report on the epidemic small pox and chicken pox, which prevailed in New-York during the last autumn and winter: explanatory of the causes of supposed failures of the vaccine disease
A treatise on a consumption of the lungs: With a previous account of nutrition, and of the sructure [!] and use of the lungs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work was written by Sir Edward Barry in 1726 regarding the prevalence of tuberculosis.